Window Xp Admin account

Thread: Window Xp Admin account

Window Xp Admin account

hello,
    I am a new admin in a small libary, all users used limited acounts. But I am not sure if they know my pass or not. How do I know if somebody have used my pass and logged in and did some stuff in the computer? Thank you.

Re: Window Xp Admin account

Originally posted here by VoDanhLangTu
    hello,
    I am a new admin in a small libary, all users used limited acounts. But I am not sure if they know my pass or not. How do I know if somebody have used my pass and logged in and did some stuff in the computer? Thank you.
    1) If you think someone has used your admin account, change the password!

2) Check all user accounts to ensure they are set-up as normal users not part of the administrator group.

3) Search google for some trojan scanning software, install it and run it to check for trojans and keyloggers.

Cheers:
    DjM

um change your password and see who complaines.
    install a keylogger and look at what is getting typed into your machine on the admin account when you are not there.
    [Shadow] have you ever noticed work is like a tree full of monkeys you look down and all you see is monkeys below you then you look up and all you see is a bunch of *******s above[/shadow]

You should turn on auditing for account logins. Then you can easily see in the security log, who logged in when.

I would not install a key-logger unless you know for a fact that you can legally do so. It would not be legal to install a key-logger on a library computer in the US without giving the user specific notice that you were doing such. Whether is it a public/corporate/school library changes the law dramatically.