SPAM and the great state of California

Thread: SPAM and the great state of California

SPAM and the great state of California

Interesting piece of news came down the pike yesterday...

California as of Janurary 1st, will make it illegal to send UNSOLICITED email (SPAM). I am having a hard time finding information about this new law, and am curious if anyone else has/had followed this.

Information on how this will be regulated, is it inside California TO California addresses?, or will this effect ALL email coming from anywhere INTO California?

Certainly curious, being a network admin, I am wondering how much easier this is going to make it for me to deal with an Enterprise-wide spam solution......

thanks in advance for any info regarding this that you all have or find.

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Redondo Beach, CA
    I'd like to see how they are going to enforce this one and who will enforce it. Previous attempts at this have flopped.

from Forbes Article
    Spam can be sent from anywhere in the world or any computer," said J.P. Gownder, a senior analyst at the Yankee Group. "Legislation of this sort will have relatively minimal impact on the problem of spam. But it certainly does make the politician who brings it about look good."
    Google Link to More articles
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

What I find most interesting is that Mr. Davis is endorsing it.

Personally, I think (Javadog) that it is going to make your job harder because spammers are going to have to come up with (again) more creative ways to step around the laws.

If I were a dishonest sort of person, I would target California with my competitor's spam

The only people that will benifit are the lawyers.

But that's just my opinion...