installing WINXP prob
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: installing WINXP prob

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    83

    installing WINXP prob

    hi all
    i was trying install WINXP pro, when i wrote
    F:\ setup.exe , igot this message
    THIS PROGRAME CANNOT BE RUN IN DOS MODE
    what that means?
    ===
    now WINME installed in drive C.
    can i install WINXP in drive D. its 10GB, if yes ,HOW?

    thanx
    coolcamel

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi cool,

    XP doesn't run over DOS. It has some DOS emulation/support features, but only after it is loaded.

    It seems like you used your WIN Me DOS to try to start it?

    If you insert the XP CD and re-boot, it should start of its own accord, but you may have to go into your BIOS and change the boot sequence (hit the key for setup when you boot) This would typically be: Floppy, CD, HDD, but I suspect that your settings are Floppy, HDD?

    Then just carefully follow the instructions. You might like to go to the Microsoft Website and look at what they say about booting multiple operating systems

    I would suggest that your copy of XP has to be:

    1. Genuine
    2. The full version, NOT an OEM (for sale with a new computer) one.

    10Gb is quite adequate for XP, the OS will not use more than 1.2, I would have thought.

    Good Luck

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    83

    thanx

    hi,again

    nihil, thanx for ur time.

    am going to format the hard disk and reach the Maximum Security by installing WINXP and waste that WINEME .

    again, thanx nihil
    coolcamel

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    472
    well anyhow there is a workaround to this....

    there will be a directory i386 in the Xp intsall CD's root directory.....goto that directory...and run winnt.exe

    ie

    f:\>cd i386
    f:\i386>winnt

    well should work for 2000, XP etc....

    nJoy
    guru@linux:~> who I grep -i blonde I talk; cd ~; wine; talk; touch; unzip; touch; strip; gasp; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; gasp; umount; make clean; sleep;

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    83

    hi again

    hi ,NullDevice

    after reading youre repley, i tolde my self why idont try it from WINME-DOSprompt.
    so i goto dosprompt moved to E: which is my CD-ROM drive
    E:\>cd i386
    E:\i386>winnt

    when i wrote that file name(winnt.exe) , i got this message
    =============the message=====================
    this programe dose not run on any 32-bit version of Windows
    use WINNT32.EXE instead.
    setup cannot continue.Press ENTER to exit.
    ============================================
    so i use that file
    E:\i386>WINNT32.EXE >i pressed enter i got
    WINXPRO installtion wizard- i complet the installtion.
    installed in D: drive .
    after the installtion i was thinking of that time getting the OS optine WINME or WINXPPRO
    so, i turned it off, when it safe to be turned off .
    then i turned it on againe .and i got the option which OS u want
    WINXPpro or WINEME.
    thanx for ur time and ur replies .
    u make me learn .
    NOW am searching the board for winxp threads.

    coolcamel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •