How to share DSL via network??
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How to share DSL via network??

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    21

    Post How to share DSL via network??

    How can I share DSL to four other computers via network and how do I secure it?? Can I also set bandwidth for each computer?? Any info would be helpful, Thank you in advance to everynody that helped.

  2. #2
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    Easy.

    www.linksys.com

    For about $60, BEFSR41 4 port router firewall with switch. Also, ZoneAlarm Pro personal firewall integrates with the product. The router has a pretty robust admin console so that you may restrict IPs etc. but it does not have a Qos or throttle capability. There are other tools to deal with this that can be used on your local network.

    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    279
    i would recommend A NetGear Splitter. i t doesn't cut your speed in half. Very easy to use. Also Cheap. I also belive that you can network with it.
    AntiOnline Quick Forum Version 2b Click Here
    10010101000000110010001100111

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    Before you go out and invest in a router, check with your DSL provider. Usually DSL services will allow you multiple connections. With our DSL connection we are allowed to connect up to 8 computers each with a unique IP. If this is the case with your DSL provider you can simple purchase a hub.
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  5. #5
    Bandwidth management software: http://bandwidthcontroller.com/

    "sumdumguy" showed me that site the other day

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    13
    Connect the dsl modem to router w/firewall to your computer(s). Depending on OS enable network/dialup connections, enable tcp/ip and dchp, and password protect Once you get basic connectivity to all the above then you can concentrate a little more on security....Just be careful out there!

    Good luck,
    SQ.....

  7. #7
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    One other alternative, depending upon your skill level, is to place a dual homed linux box (because it is free, not because Windows can't do it) and use IPTABLES and proxy traffic through the box. You'll need a hub and a spare box to use this method although it isn't a 5 minute process.

    --TH13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    3
    I share my DSL to 4 PC's using ICS(Internet Connection Sharing). I had an extra NIC(network card) that I put in one of the PC's, One goes to my DSL modem, the other to a hub. It works great even playing games such as Asheron's Call on all 4 at once.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    13
    You could also use a free proxy server
    ie. http://www.jana-server.de

    its also a http ftp server

  10. #10
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352
    Yes , I use the Linksys 4 port router firewall router that thehorse13 had mentioned.. It works very well.. don't forget that it uses NAT (Network Address Translation) , which in otherwords make a bunch of computers that you are sharing look like one system...my setup right now i have a linux box behind my firewall running ftp , and a windows xp box incase a friend comes over ..and the router is very configurable through http from any networked box on you LAN.. The router has logging , so it logs every outgoing connection and every attempted incoming connection.. heh the first day i had my router up , like 50 script kiddies were scanning for sub seven.. ok im rambling..
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •