is open-soure REALLY more secure???
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: is open-soure REALLY more secure???

is open-soure REALLY more secure???

after seeing articles like this, i really begin to doubt the whole open-source argument that open-source software IS more secure than proprietary products. i just cannot believe that the "many eyes=better code" philosophy is accurate at all. if that were true, than we would not have these issues, right??? (personally i don't think either one is more secure than the other) i think it all depends on the developers working on the code, as we all know, there are quality developers and crappy ones. i have been a technician for many, many years now and have yet to come across any developer that has said "hmmm...i'm bored, i think i'll look over this code for bugs". unless, they are wanting to use some of that particular code in one of their projects or want to build something similar, they don't do that. anyway, i just wanted to get some of the AOers thougts on this.

BTW-before i get flamed or neg'd, i have to say that i hate all OSs equally...they all do the same thing, but get from point A to point B differently. IMO

http://news.com.com/2100-1002_3-5085...l?tag=nefd_top
    just making some minor adjustments to your system....

AntiOnline Senior Member souleman's Avatar
    open source is actually less secure because the flaws can be found easier. But, when a flaw is found, it is patched a LOT more quickly then propriatary software.
    \"Ignorance is bliss....
    but only for your enemy\"
    -- souleman

See that's the oddity of opinions...

I read that exact same article - and it makes me think what a GREAT idea open source is. I believe that article outlines the very reason open-source is made to be more secure then most non-open source.