IPAQ traceable?

Thread: IPAQ traceable?

IPAQ traceable?

Hi there. I've been thinking about getting a IPAQ 2210 to use in school. Since I'm studying information security and we do risk analyses on different companies we get in contact with some information that shouldn't be "missplaced" and hence I wonder:

1. Viruses and trojans. Are there a lot of viruses and/or trojans designed especially for handhelds? Are there any specially designed anti virus programs for handhelds out there?

2. What kind of security programs are there availible for handhelds (and IPAQ in particular)?

3. Are there any way of tracing a stolen/lost IPAQ? Trough MAC-adress or any other way? Do they have any build in security features (and in particular for tracing)?

4. Has anyone anything good or bad in general to say about IPAQ 2210?

Thanks in advance.

PS. If there are any misstakes in spelling, please excuse me but English is not my native language.
    [shadow] Nobody\'s perfect, but I\'m damn close...[/shadow]

Never used IPAQ so can't help you I'm afraid. However, your english is perfect

The first Handheld virus ever was found a couple weeks ago...i dont know the artical off the top of my head...but handheld virus's in the future shouldnt be growin to fast...maybe in 5-10 years maybe but u prolly have another one by then. You dont really need any security programs for a handheld...I'm not sure if IPAQS run palm os or pocket pc...but none of them so far have any serious vulnerabilities so far. As far as you losin it? Um...toughluck??? Well some HP handhelds have linux OS...so just install linux and have no accounts for people...it'd just be a dumb handheld if they found/stole it.