Hiding IP address
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Hiding IP address

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    16

    Hiding IP address

    Just wondering what can be done to hide my IP address while using the internet (besides going through something like "anonymizer.com/the-cloak.com, etc.).

    For example... "cheyenne1212" has a signature that shows your IP address everytime I'm logged on here... what would I have loaded on my computer to prevent that from being possible?

    Thanks All
    Hey... even TheFBI needs help!
    http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg


  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    877
    Actually thats all done localy... kinda like when you click here in my sig. its nothing to really worry about... I use it as a joke, & companies use it as a scam to scare peaple who don't know any better into buying things.

    For IP go for a proxie... for the other stuff such as ports, OS type, & (ect) get a router. A "good" firewall should have options to stealth. It'll usually drop the SYN and ICMP in scans, which will often makes your box appear offline or hide some of the services on your box.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    16
    And the simplist source for a proxie? (newbie-us maximus... remember).

    Thanks
    Hey... even TheFBI needs help!
    http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg


  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    37
    Hello,

    The Specialist has the right idea. Place your network on a NAT (Network Address Translation) scheme whereby you hide the network with private-non-routable IP addresses. In addition, if you have a proxy (firewall) depending on the type you can hide your public IP and disable the IP from responding to pings. If you already have a firewall (which I presume you do) complete a firmware upgrade as some manufacturers are including additional functionality with each fw release.

    Regards,



    DarkCarniv0l
    \"The Only Kind Of Good Clown.... Is A Clown Gone Bad\"

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    130
    You could use a CGIProxy
    It has a choice of hiding referrer information and disabling scripts on that page.
    This is a good one http://www.konundrum.org/cgi-bin/cgi...nph-proxy.pl/.
    Search google for "start using cgiproxy" and youll get a lot of them.
    there is no space betweem cgiproxy. Otherwise you wont get what you want.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    220
    Yea, I would say connect through a proxy. Its the easiest way. There are alot of good sites with free proxies. Just search google or the AO forums.
    [gloworange]And then it happened... a door opened to a world... rushing through the phone line like heroin through an addict\'s veins, an electronic pulse is sent out, a refuge from the day-to-day incompetencies is sought... a board is found. \"This is it... this is where I belong...\" I know everyone here... even if I\'ve never met them, never talked to them, may never hear from them again... I know you all...[/gloworange]

  7. #7
    Ninja Code Monkey
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,027
    You cannot install anything on your box that will make it so that other people cannot see what your ip is. The best you can do is route your traffic through another computer (aka a proxy) but this can also eventually get traced back. People have to know your ip in order to know where to send the data you request....period.
    "When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes." - Erasmus
    "There is no programming language, no matter how structured, that will prevent programmers from writing bad programs." - L. Flon
    "Mischief my ass, you are an unethical moron." - chsh
    Blog of X

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    133
    Here is a site with some information I think you may find useful http://www.derkeiler.com/Mailing-Lis...2-10/0192.html and this is a site with various tools to eliminate information from tcpdump trace files. http://ita.ee.lbl.gov/html/software.html I'm not sure if this is what you were looking for but hey, it might help.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    16
    Thanks to each and all of you. You've all been great - very helpful, and I've got just what I was looking for.

    Cheers
    Hey... even TheFBI needs help!
    http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg


  10. #10
    AntiOnline Senior Member souleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    2,884
    Actually, nothing from that sig is done locally. It is all a few simple cgi scripts on the website that is hosting the sig. All it does is grabs your IP addy (from when it connects), the headders from your connection request, and does a quick lookup on the IP addy to get your ISP.
    \"Ignorance is bliss....
    but only for your enemy\"
    -- souleman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides