Strange Password prompts when browsing
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Strange Password prompts when browsing

  1. #1

    Strange Password prompts when browsing

    Howdy all,

    I am running a Win2kPro box with all updates and patches. Just recently i upgraded from Netscape 7.0 to 7.1 and i get these strange password prompts when going to sites like www.msn.com and sometimes yahoo and sites like that, but i also get it here at AO. I know i keep some password in password manager in Netscape but i have never used it for the sites its asking me user names and passwords for. Any ideas on how to stop these pop-up from what looks like ADVERTISING sites, i dont want to disable password manager all together. It also happened all of sudden when i was using the latest version of I.E. with all the updates(I want to stop it on I.E.). I have taken a screen shot of what im talking about so you guys have a better idea. Any help or suggestions that i could use to stop these annoying password prompts. I also run SPYBOT and AdAWARE on a regular basis.


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134
    hi Condoor, your zip file seems to be courpt, i`ve tried downloading it twice and both times its been courpt. Cause without seeing what you mean its hard to say what it is.

  3. #3
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    homenet: the zip works for me.. contains a DOC with two Pics..

    I have seen these before.. once.. try checking for (half erased) spyware (with lavasoft's add-aware or spybot s&d)
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    I am sorry to say this, but you have almost certainly been invaded. Get the latest SpyBot S&D and AdAware, and boot in safe mode before running them......that stops a lot of malware stealth & countermeasures.


    Now, try SwatIT 2.1 from http://www.swatit.org

    And look at http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/index.html there is a tool that looks for the CoolWeb scumware specifically...might help?

    Good luck..........report back if this does not work

    Cheers,

    Johnno

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134
    yea its worked for me now, strange i tried twice earlier and it said the zip file was courpted.
    Pity i havn`t got round to install word yet!

  6. #6
    Thanks Guys for the replys i will try them, and then update tonight when i get home from work!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    107
    man that is Adware for sure

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1
    hi all we should be hack the americans sites
    thank for all
    the balck hacker president arab hackers organization

  9. #9
    Member amorphous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    61
    Originally posted here by fire_hacker
    hi all we should be hack the americans sites
    thank for all
    the balck hacker president arab hackers organization
    WTF! What kind of dumbass idiot post is that?

    edited to censor profanity!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    349
    first post after 14 months.impressive. must be learning big time here. good luck to you.
    and from all of us %$^%^^$(*&+@#

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •