help needed-bios problem?maybe? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: help needed-bios problem?maybe?

  1. #11
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    I know this sound outrageous and silly but trust me i have done it this way for years.

    Take the CMOS battery out and put it some place safe, if you have a jumper that you can reset to clear you CMOS do so, then put your mother board in the freezer for atl east 24 hours.

    You see, all your BIOS settings are stored in a CMOS chip and the only way to make sure you delete all the info stored in the chip now a days, is to hit them with a UV light, however they are a kind of volatile chip so using the CMOS reset jumper might not always work first time, you could be lucky of course and it work the first time or you could be unlucky and it doesnt work till the 100th time you reset it!

    BUT,CMOS chips do not like the cold, or the heat for that matter, but its easer and safer to freeze it that it is to heat it up!

    Give it a shot, also if you cant start your system up DONT flash the BIOS as it wont completley install untill you have started your system up COMPLETLEY, if you stop the prosess halfway through you will permantly damage you bios and hence your mo bo and will prob have to send it away to be re-flashed!!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  2. #12
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    I have been aware of freezing for some time (very?).............nokia........do you steal car stereos for a living?

    Not a good idea with something that you want to keep and use? hey, nokia, before you flame me, please check the physics/metallurgy?

    It will work..............but for how long?

    Cheers, have a good weekend all

    Johnno
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Found your Motherboard at the gigabyte website. Heres the links to their BIOS FIles
    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/motherboa..._GA-6WMMC7.htm

    /edit:

    My browsers freezing up right now, but if you click on the manuals link, you will find your manual for the baord. Look for CMOS jumpers.
    =

  4. #14
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Originally posted here by nihil
    I have been aware of freezing for some time (very?).............nokia........do you steal car stereos for a living?
    LOL, how on earth did you guess that?? ;-)

    Nothing on a Mo Bo will incur any damage as long as once you have "Thawed" it out you dont put it straight back in the frigde(maybe leave it for a few dayz) the only component(s) that will be affected (as far as I have been told anyway) are CMOS chips everything else would be OK.

    I wouldnt recommend pluging the Mo Bo stright in, as soon as you have taken it out of the freezer though!

    Its a garenteed solution to the BIOS password problem though!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  5. #15
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    Award BIOS backdoor passwords:
    ALFAROME
    ALLy
    aLLy
    aLLY
    ALLY
    aPAf
    _award
    AWARD_SW
    AWARD?SW
    AWARD SW
    AWARD PW
    AWKWARD
    awkward BIOSTAR
    CONCAT
    CONDO
    Condo
    d8on
    djonet
    HLT
    J64
    J256
    J262
    j332
    j322 KDD
    Lkwpeter
    LKWPETER
    PINT
    pint
    SER
    SKY_FOX
    SYXZ
    syxz
    shift + syxz
    TTPTHA ZAAADA
    ZBAAACA
    ZJAAADC
    01322222
    589589
    589721
    595595
    598598
    AMI BIOS backdoor passwords:
    AMI
    AAAMMMIII
    BIOS
    PASSWORD
    HEWITT RAND
    AMI?SW
    AMI_SW
    LKWPETER
    A.M.I.
    CONDO
    PHOENIX BIOS backdoor passwords:
    phoenix, PHOENIX, CMOS, BIOS
    MISC. COMMON PASSWORDS
    ALFAROME
    BIOSTAR
    biostar
    biosstar
    CMOS
    cmos LKWPETER
    lkwpeter
    setup
    SETUP
    Syxz
    Wodj
    OTHER BIOS PASSWORDS BY MANUFACTURER
    Manufacturer Password
    VOBIS & IBM merlin
    Dell Dell
    Biostar Biostar
    Compaq Compaq
    Enox xo11nE
    Epox central
    Freetech Posterie
    IWill iwill
    Jetway spooml
    Packard Bell bell9
    QDI QDI
    Siemens SKY_FOX
    TMC BIGO
    Toshiba Toshiba
    TOSHIBA BIOS
    Most Toshiba laptops and some desktop systems will bypass the BIOS password if the left shift key is held down during boot
    IBM APTIVA BIOS
    Press both mouse buttons repeatedly during the boot
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  6. #16
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    This may sound stupid?

    you said that you "took the jumper out"????

    In my experience, there are usually three pins on the MoBo, and the jumper is connecting pins 1 & 2. With the machine OFF, you connect pins 2 & 3. Then power up the machine and power it down again. Then replace the jumper on pins 1 & 2.

    Just watch out for this:


    Good luck
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •