Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: RPM problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339

    RPM problem

    i want to uninstall this application called synaptic which is a GUI for the apt-get program, but im running into some problems in doing so this is what i get when i try and uninstall the app:

    [root@localhost Dan]# rpm -e synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm
    error: package synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm is not installed

    even though i know it is installed, my suspicions are confirmed whe i get this:
    [root@localhost Dan]# rpm -ivh synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    package synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm is already installed

    so then i try a different approach:
    [root@localhost Dan]# rpm -q synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm
    package synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm is not installed

    then i try and update the app, hoping that the problem might correct itself in the update:
    [root@localhost Dan]# rpm -Uvh synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    package synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm is already installed

    I am soooo frustrated by this, and I am unaware of any other way to uninstall a RPM, so anyone who could give me there opinon as to what the problem is and a soulution would be greatly appreciated, thank you much.
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458
    try removing the file extension from the package when doing a rpm -e.

    The best way to do this is to first run rpm -qa |grep synaptic*. This will show you the RPM package name as it is installed. From there just run 'rpm -e <pkg_name>'

    If you want the easy way out, just try this 'rpm -e synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73'

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    ok invictus,thank you very much that worked for removing the synaptic, but now i tried to run a apt-get update and this is what i got:

    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get update
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    so i tried cd to the file, and it wont come up in vi or kate, cause i think i know what the prob is, i had synaptic setup to fetch RPM's from a site other then the default one, and thats when i started havin probs, but i tried fixing it and i came to the conclusion that uninstalling it and re-installing the app would be the best route, but i cant, cause i get that error everytime, and when i try and uninstall apt-get i get this:

    [root@localhost Dan]# rpm -e apt-0.5.5cnc5-fr0.rh73
    error: package apt-0.5.5cnc5-fr0.rh73 is not installed

    but again, it is installed, and i tried the same route as i did with synaptic but with no results, so if you could throw me one more reply to help out i would really appreciate it, or anyone else that has an idea to what a fix might be, thanx alot again though.
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  4. #4
    The easiest way is to use backticks and run one command as part of the other like this

    rpm -e `rpm -qa|grep apt`

    The back ticks are like a single quote facing the other way. It is the key directly below the esc key.
    HTH

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    508
    Hi,

    What happen when you do this :
    Code:
    # apt-get -f install
    Code:
    # apt-get check
    Code:
    # cat /etc/apt/sources.list | egrep -v '^(#|$)'
    Code:
    # apt-get -s upgrade
    It might be come up something.. your problem







    /edit:

    Try my tricks:
    Code:
    # rpm  -ihv apt-025-fr0.2rh73.i386.rpm or try this # rpm -ihv apt-0.5.4cnc9-fr0.1.rh73.i386.rpm 
     
    
     
     # apt-get update
     # apt-get install synaptic
     # apt-get remove synaptic <<< if you want to remove it
    I hope that'll works


    Cheers

    Annya
    Not an image or image does not exist!
    Not an image or image does not exist!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    sweet angel: heres what i get when i tried all the code you provided me with:

    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get -f install
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    E: The list of sources could not be read.

    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get check
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    E: The list of sources could not be read.

    [root@localhost Dan]# cat /etc/apt/sources.list | egrep -v '^(#|$)'
    rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.3/i386 os updates freshrpms
    rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.3/i386 os updates freshrpms
    rpm http://freshrpms.net/redhat/7.3/

    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get -s upgrade
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    E: The list of sources could not be read.

    So i know what line is screwy in the source list, so now how do i go about deleting it? I have been playing with it alot, tryin all kinds of goofy **** in vi and i cant seem to delete that line, in hopes that it will fix the problem.
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    508
    Originally posted here by hatebreed2000


    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get -f install
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    E: The list of sources could not be read.

    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get check
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    E: The list of sources could not be read.

    As you can see here your problem came up..like I said before
    BTW have you done this before ?
    Code:
    # apt-get dist-upgrade
    Originally posted here by hatebreed2000


    [root@localhost Dan]# cat /etc/apt/sources.list | egrep -v '^(#|$)'
    rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.3/i386 os updates freshrpms
    rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.3/i386 os updates freshrpms
    rpm http://freshrpms.net/redhat/7.3/



    Ok from that command.. do this:
    Code:
    # rpm -ihv apt-0.5.4cnc9-fr1.i386.rpm
    # apt-get update
    # apt-get install synaptic
    # apt-get clean
    Let me know how it goes and BTW I am on my BSD laptop now, and I don't use RH Linux any more..but I am still remember How I did it, I hope I can help you here..

    And what you will see when you do # cat /etc/apt/sources.list
    Not an image or image does not exist!
    Not an image or image does not exist!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    Sweet Angel: No I havent ever done this before, i have been lucky so far of having no problems installing/uninstalling or compiling any programs. When I typed in apt-get dist-upgrade I got this:

    [root@localhost Dan]# apt-get dist-upgrade
    E: Malformed line 43 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist)
    E: The list of sources could not be read.

    Which is the same error I have been getting, I know all I need to do is either delete line 43 or just uninstall the program, but it will not let me, no matter what the command so far, and I have been trying , I have been searchin google for similar problems and solutions and possible syntax to take care of the prob, but to no avail. When i type rpm -ivh apt prog i get this

    [root@localhost Dan]# rpm -ivh apt-0.5.5cnc5-fr0.rh73.2.i386.rpm
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    package apt-0.5.5cnc5-fr0.rh73.2 is already installed

    As you can see it is already installed. And i cannot complete any of those other ones you suggested (ie apt-get update, apt-get clean) becuase I still get the same error. When i Typed ( which i had already done this prior to me making this post )
    cat /etc/apt/sources.list I get this:

    [root@localhost Dan]# cat /etc/apt/sources.list
    # List of available apt repositories available from ayo.freshrpms.net.
    # This file should contain an uncommented default suitable for your system.

    # See http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ for a list of other repositories and mirrors.

    # $Id: sources.list,v 1.8 2003/04/16 09:59:58 dude Exp $

    # Red Hat Linux 9
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/9/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/9/i386 os updates freshrpms

    # Red Hat Linux 8.0
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/8.0/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/8.0/i386 os updates freshrpms

    # Red Hat Linux 7.3
    rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.3/i386 os updates freshrpms
    rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.3/i386 os updates freshrpms

    # Red Hat Linux 7.2
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.2/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.2/i386 os updates freshrpms

    # Red Hat Linux 7.1
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.1/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.1/i386 powertools dma
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.1/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.1/i386 powertools dma

    # Red Hat Linux 7.0
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.0/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.0/i386 powertools dma
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.0/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/7.0/i386 powertools dma

    # Red Hat Linux 6.2
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/6.2/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/6.2/i386 powertools
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/6.2/i386 os updates freshrpms
    # rpm-src http://ayo.freshrpms.net/ redhat/6.2/i386 powertools


    rpm http://freshrpms.net/redhat/7.3/

    All i need to do is either delte line 43 or just uninstall the prog, and its really frustrating because i am at complete loss why its not letting me. Sweet angel thank you for your help so far, any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Take it easy.
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    508
    Hi,

    I have question for you, how did you install your "apt"?. I meant this is how I done it:

    Grab the apt and apt-devel packages ( and this is the important part "you don't
    need the source [.src.rpm] rpm ") and save them to your machine.
    Then open a terminal, switch to root user, and install the packages with:

    rpm -ivh apt*
    Once that's done do this :
    # cat /etc/apt/sources.list
    # apt-get update (resynchronize the package index files from their sources)
    # apt-get -f install (to verify your RPM database)
    # apt-get -s upgrade (to update your package)
    # apt-get install synaptic
    # apt-get clean
    # apt-get remove synaptic

    Try again..don't give up yet













    Not an image or image does not exist!
    Not an image or image does not exist!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5

    RPM

    run rpm -qa |grep synaptic*. This will show you the RPM package name as it is installed. From there just run 'rpm -e <pkg_name>'

    If you want the easy way out, just try this 'rpm -e synaptic-0.25-fr0.2rh73'


    happy rpm ing
    way to go buddy
    keep it high

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •