Sibling protection...again
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Sibling protection...again

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256

    Unhappy Sibling protection...again

    Ok, so my brother officially pissed me off, and being that I pay for the internet access, he is now removed from the hub. However, there isnt anything stopping him from plugging the ethernet cable back in. Is there a way to block his internet access totally via the router and not his pc (since his pc is password protected). I have a Netgear RP 114 router/firewall. I am running W2K and he is running 98 SE. Any help would be great. Particularly if someone has/knows of a handy program to use.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    Access the router via your web browser (I'm assuming you know how to do this, if not check the manual). You should be able to set either an IP or MAC Address Filter to allow only the IP Address of your PC to pass through or you may be able to set up Forwarding to do the same thing. I'm not familiar with all the options on that Netgear Router, but this should be a good start...Good Luck.
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    111
    Wazz is right about the MAC address filtering. Just find out his NIC's MAC address and you'll be set. IP filtering might not be as effective, as everytime he unplugs then plugs back in, he gets a new IP designation.
    Creating further mindless stupidity....through mindless automation.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256
    When I plug in his cable, netgear shows me his mac address. From that point, I have a portion listed called "static route". Think that maybe the place to enter his info?
    Sex is like \"Social Security\". You get a little each month, but it\'s not enough to live on.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    111
    Yeah, I believe that is the place to enter his info....since you could consider a MAC address as static, as it never changes.
    Creating further mindless stupidity....through mindless automation.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256

    double chek

    Would you be able to give me some help in filling out the form (what goes where--see attached pic). I think this is where I need to be. Again, Thanks so much.
    Sex is like \"Social Security\". You get a little each month, but it\'s not enough to live on.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    111
    Actually I don't think that is the right table. Could you attach some more pics of some of the setup options you have? I looked on the whitepages and couldn't find much...
    Creating further mindless stupidity....through mindless automation.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    111
    You know I just had an epiphany about your router. What you could do, since it is a router, and not a switch (for some reason I was in the switch mode of thinking), you could assign your brother's PC with a local address to your router. ie. 198.162.0.X, and then block that via one of your tables on the router interface. Since your router would be technically 198.162.0.1, but the actual address would be whatever your ISP assigns. I'm not sure if you were in the correct table however. Like in the previous post, if you could send me some more screen shots I'll be able to help you a little better...
    Creating further mindless stupidity....through mindless automation.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    What you want to do is find an option called "filter". set up your network to use manually assigned IP's then go to the filter option in your routers box and type in his IP. That should keep him from being able to get on the net.

    So bascially, Give him a Ip address of 192.168.1.1 or whatever your using and then block that address at the router.
    =

  10. #10
    Now, RFC Compliant! Noia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    erm, there should be an internet limiting section in there, I mean, my router is a pretty cheap thingy, and it has this feature.

    Look through it, I'm sure his PC's info is stored in the router somewhere, simply use that to block all protocols to his machine.
    With all the subtlety of an artillery barrage / Follow blindly, for the true path is sketchy at best. .:Bring OS X to x86!:.
    Og ingen kan minnast dei linne drag i dronningas andlet den fagre dag Då landet her kvilte i heilag fred og alle hadde kjærleik å elske med.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides