SuSe 8.2 problem
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: SuSe 8.2 problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352

    Post SuSe 8.2 problem

    Hello , I recently got SuSe 8.2.. When i boot up and it reads the cd i pick installation.. It goes on and reads everything , and it goes straight to text mode and the god damn keyboard doesn't work.. It's getting me mad.. But on my laptop is goes straight to graphical install , I don't get it.. Has this happened to anyone ?
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Make sure that your just pressing enter and not typing anything in when the CD is first read to be booted from. Linux gives you an option to install using the gui, text mode, or a limited VGA install. I believe all you do is just press enter. Make sure You type nothing in.
    =

  3. #3
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Are you using a keyboard that has a usb plug on it if so I would try using a keyboard that doesn't have one that might make the difference

  4. #4
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352
    Nope regular keyboard no USB cable.. Installation worked fine on laptop... But in laptop when i went as root to edit the /etc/inittab file , i couldn't erase any text and i dont know why it's asking me this.. Still relatively a little new to linux..
    It just keeps going to text mode on my work station and wont let me press anything to confirm anything... Ughh i'll do some googling and respond back later..
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

  5. #5
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    Do you have a spare keyboard laying around you could test. Also I had the same problem with editing conf files with redhat. At the shell you should be able to so a su and login as root. Then if you go to the directory of the conf file you could type
    gedit /etc/inittab
    where gedit would be the name of a text editor you have installed on your system. With KDE I think they have kedit.
    Hope that helped.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5
    hei did u use vi ti edit?
    make sure that u r familiar with all the commands and keys in "vi"
    like the insert ha ha
    it was a joke

    anyways just try getting familiarised with vi

    and if possible try to get a spare ps/2 key from some good old friend of urs and try installation, after that revert to ur usb mode if u have one

    good luck
    way to go buddy
    keep it high

  7. #7
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352
    lol actually I am very familiar with vi.. But as for my other work station it wont go to graphical install.. When I press enter to go to installation , it just goes straight to text install and I can't press anything..
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

  8. #8
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352
    ok , I got it working on my workstation.. Now like I said before , I can't edit ANY files in vi.. Even as root.. Even if I create a shell script and save it , afterwards vi won't let me edit any files..Anything like this happen to anyone ?
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

  9. #9
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Did you try opening it or saving it with another editor, for.ex. pico or nano

    - nano -w /home/shrekkie/test
    - write something
    - CTRL + O (save)
    - CTRL + X (exit)

    Check if you do CTRL + O , you don't see a warning from pico or nano.
    If there's a permission problem, you always still could try the chown command on the file or directory.

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  10. #10
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352
    Well nano isn't installed at the moment , but with vi and ex i can't edit ANY files that were saved previously.. I checked the permissions and no go.. I guess i'll keep working on it.. Maybe one of you SUsE geeks had this problem before ?
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •