HotPorn476 - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: HotPorn476

  1. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3,840
    UPDATE: I just got my phone bill, and guess what, it suceeded to dial out twice so it charged me 39.99$ for each call. I called my phone company and they said that i downloaded some sport stuff (gamez) i guess and cuz of that they charged me. But in the end they told me i dont have to pay anything so it's all good but if you do get this virus , disconnet your computer from the phone line and follow the instructions in this thread

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,019
    Ok, so stupid question time..... since you can get programs that allow you to make long distance phone calls from your computer, where would the charge go if you used your computer to dial one of these numbers (assuming you are on something other than dial-up)


  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    I would think that if you were on broadband, you would be all right. I think, but I might be wrong.

    The reason I say this is because theres no way for it to actually dial out when you only have a ethernet cable plugged in.
    =

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,019
    Hmmm...there used to be a program called net2phone, or something like that....I guess I don't know why it wouldn't work..I'm gonna have to go and try it out now. Anybody have any good 1-900 numbers

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,130
    Originally posted here by cheyenne1212
    I would think that if you were on broadband, you would be all right. I think, but I might be wrong.

    The reason I say this is because theres no way for it to actually dial out when you only have a ethernet cable plugged in.
    Yeah, you're wrong. I got this virus or something like it before on cable. But I still leave my modem plugged in to send faxes and stuff, and it's good for testing webpages for dialup speed when I'm deisgnings them. Anyway, you're safe if you've got broadband and do not have a modem plugged in. But if you keep one for backup or convenience, it could still happen. I heard that modem relay go a couple of times and having heard of things like this, I pulled it out of the wall right away. It can still dial out if you have an ethernet cable plugged in. I didn't know you get charged 40 bucks for it though.
    Government is like fire - a handy servant, but a dangerous master - George Washington
    Government is not reason, it is not eloquence - it is force. - George Washington.

    Join the UnError community!

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    9
    I sent you a tool that might help if it is a trojan type file. Something is talking to something. Keep it simple stupid is the best method. The KISS method. I tend to go above and beyond myself. Clean your cookies, Delete temp files. Watch your ports. That is one way of communication. Remember to check the created dates of files.

    Try this web site
    http://www.antiy.net

    There is more info to be learned under program binding.This is one way bugs get in. At Antionline. A good example of binary binding can be found at,

    http://www.commodon.com/threat/threat-wam.htm

    And it all seems so innocent.

    Let me know how you make out. I can get a bug or two of my own. And I have a few friends that love a challenge.

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    Try DrWeb antivirus, it usualy can find viruses thet mcafee and norton cannot.
    But use it just for scan it is not good to use in realtime protection.
    I got few times viruses that mcafee that I use could not find and drweb could, I run it as secoundare antivirus or if I got some trouble with pc. It is enouph to use it in just report or delete mode.

    Free for download, but just evalution version.

    http://www.sald.com/
    // too far away outside of limit

  8. #28
    Try adaware 6.0 ,it is really great & stay away from dialers

  9. #29
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    well good news for those in the uk - i dont think we can dial premium rate numbers in the US for a start and the PRS (premium Rate Services) offfered in the UK all have to adhere to the ICTIS guidelines so they can't charge like 50 per min or anything like that - think max is like 2.50 or so - but I advise people to keep an eye to ensure that they do not infect themselves with anything like this cause you will prolly be made pay it anyways......well i know for a fact if you are with BT you will hvae to pay it (used to work for them)
    BT will not waive the fees as they are simply relaying the from the PRS provider - if you feel you got any charges from something like this you need to contact ICTIS not BT am afraid as they deal with it

    v_Ln

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    3

    Lightbulb

    sounds like a prefetch issue clear that folder manually delete temp internet files cookies and porn favorites and check for a web browser self installed toolbar + change the browser seerch engine since it has set itself as the default.

    ...must be XP...

    I drink, drive and I will never get caught!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •