Laptop Power Down Problem?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Laptop Power Down Problem?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    31

    Laptop Power Down Problem?

    Ive had my laptop for about 12 months now, and ive been having a problem for the past week.

    Every now and then, my laptop will power down and turn itself off without any warning (its plugged into the power outlet so its not the battery).

    Ive got an anti virus and firewall which are updated regulary and i also run software such as spybot S&D, adaware, spy sweeper & The Cleaner every week (and they do pick up the odd spyware but nothing special).

    It's driving me mad, any ideas??

    Thanks in advance !

  2. #2
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    WHich os are you running ?

    Well if windows or sumtin, you better check your power profiles, there you can define when he powers down and stuff, even when he's in the power outlet.

    Settings - Control Panel - Power Options

    Hope that helps,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    31
    Its just happened again, playing a game and it closed down

    I'm running Win XP, and ive checked the power options, it is set to never shut down when its running on batteries/power, but it does alert you if your batteries are running low, and will go into standby mode if they get critical, but this just turns my comp off completely.

    Any other suggestions?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    111
    You might be having an overheating problem....dependent upon your laptop hardware, there might be a heat-sensing switch off module. I know when you play a lot of graphic intensive games with a laptop, the laptop units get really hot.

    Space makes all the difference in a CPU, and when you're talking laptops, it gets extremely hot very fast with a compact unit. Might want to "ghettofy" your setup and put a small fan by your laptop I know it sounds primitive, but simple things work sometimes. Just a suggestion
    Creating further mindless stupidity....through mindless automation.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    37
    Heat! Heat! Heat! OR..... Bad memory modules. Check to ensure the fans are working and if you have PC doctor, run a diagnostic on all memory stick/s.

    Good ruck,



    DarkCarniv0l
    \"The Only Kind Of Good Clown.... Is A Clown Gone Bad\"

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    31
    where can i get that from?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    98
    Never had that problem. You could just lay off the games and use a fan. Or you could switch to a VIA C3 processor. They consume very little power and are cool running. Still should use a fan though. The C3 is a 30 dollar processor that uses its own special board so it is kind of a pain to install one into a laptop. I have a PC and during the summer months I open it up, clean it out, then put an 18 inch fan up for cooling. You could try a similar approach. If I want to play games I use my PS2 box. After all, that is what it is there for.
    \"The wise programmer is told about Tao and follows it. The average programmer is told about Tao and searches for it. The foolish programmer is told about Tao and laughs at it.
    If it were not for laughter, there would be no Tao.\"

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    I too agree it's most likely a heat issue.. read this thread..
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...readid=249429&

    and if you want to test your memory.. forget about any windows based memory checker..
    get these two programs instead..

    docmemory version 2
    http://www.utilitygeek.com/details.php?fileid=130

    memtest86
    http://www.memtest86.com/

    in my opinion.. docmemory is the better of the two

  9. #9
    Member LarrySmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    69
    I will agree it is probally heat if it shuts down totally. If it reboots and reposts(as in a cold reboot) It is memory or the power supply. If it reboots and doesn't repost as in a warm reboot then you have a software issue.

    I will recommend the best memory tester available. I will explain why.
    When you boot up with a dos floppy IO.sys and MSdos.sys occupy certain places in memory.These occupied locations do not get tested. With tufftestpro you have a diagnostic program that has it's own mini operating system. When the memory test is run the OS is able to relocate itself to another part of memory. This allows the prior OS locations in memory to be tested. The complete suite is $29.95 and it is worth every penny. I have been a computer technician for 6 years and I have found this to best program around for the $.

    Check it out here:
    http://www.tufftest.com/

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    31
    Thanks for the help guys, but i have 1 problem,

    I dont have a disk drive on my laptop, only a DVD,CD-RW combined drive

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •