Mac troubles
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mac troubles

  1. #1
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729

    Question Mac troubles

    i hav recently aquired a mac powerpc 5500/225 to mess around with so i can see if i would like to buy a brand new mac
    the hdd went out and so did the os, i got another hdd and downmloaded a copy of mac os 8.5
    before the keyboard and mouse worked now only things that work on the keyboard is the power button. whats wrong, i hav switched out the keyboard with a different one but the results are the same
    any ideas out there?


    also once i get mouse and keyboard up how do i install to hdd, just click on the cd or is there a process please help
    thanx
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    78
    I can only show you this: http://www-edlab.cs.umass.edu/~ahelblin/misc/mac.html

    Sorry bout going off topic..
    [pong][shadow]Why won\'t anyone give me greenies???[/shadow] [/pong]

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,146
    ROTFLMAO
    ROTFLMAO
    ROTFLMAO
    ROTFLMAO
    ROTFLMAO
    ROTFLMAO
    ROTFLMAO


    Thanks, :-\ , I needed that!

  4. #4
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    I don't know much about Macs but have you tried going to http://www.info.apple.com/ and looking for the users guide on it. I am sure it will help you

  5. #5
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Well, MacFixit is the place to go to troubleshoot Mac issues. And I don't know if you'll be able to open up that Mac given it's an all in one concept (for those curious, visit here and select 5500). Unless it's an external SCSI drive.. You'll be awfully close to the CRT and that can be dangerous. You might want to look around for a Mac specialty shop who can do it for you or find an external case.

    Generally speaking the Mac will detect the drive right away. You should consider, once the system is running, putting OS 9 on the Mac. There are built-in tools to format and prepare harddrives called Apple Disk Tools.

    Hope this helps.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    251
    to mess around with so i can see if i would like to buy a brand new mac
    I think you'll find that any comparison between an "old-world" Mac and a new Mac to be weak at best. The current mac operating system is completely different than MacOS8.5, they've completely redesigned it to actually make use of the expensive hardware that Apple uses.
    If you manage to get the HD in successfully, why not install Yellow Dog linux or something and save yourself the hassle of dealing with classic MacOS, I try to avoid at all costs.
    The owl of Minerva spreads its wings only with the falling of dusk. -Hegel

  7. #7
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    i figured out my problem, the mouse was bad so it made my keyboard not respond and i was planing on installing yellow dog in fact i hav a copy of it so as soon as i can install mac os i can install linux cause i was told that u hav to hav a mac os to install linux.
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  8. #8
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Glad to hear that all it was was a bad rodent

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •