Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am being attacked from all fronts!

I am being attacked from all fronts!

Somebody please help me. For the past two days I've been overrun with unstoppable pop-ups, ads, and banners.
    I am a novice and am completely overwhelmed. I've been told that hackers have broken in to my system, for what purpose eludes me.
    This is the first site that has provided me shelter from the storm!
    Can someboby please help me fight back!

Chances are you haven't been hacked, but you've prolly caught some spywear. I'd recommend downloading and running Lavasoft's "Adaware" and "Spybot Search & Destroy".

http://spybot.eon.net.au/

and

http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

Banned
    Yes, modern hackers are the internet's answer to those annoying perfume people in department stores, only here rather that spraying perfume in your face to make a sale, they slosh ads all over your screen.

catch

PS. Yes, I am kidding. Sounds like you inadvertantly installed some form of adware as stated by endotoxin. (comet curso and bonzi buddy (?) are common suspects)

Oh dear lord, may I never have to deal with that purple ape again!

See, once upon a time I worked as a phonemonkey for a well-known and powerful internet service provider *coughcoughEARTHLINKcough*. Now for some odd reason, we techs were not allowed to support anything that was not communications related, EXCEPT for BonsiBuddy.

The fix for removing BB from a Win32 or VWin32 system is several pages long, involving numerous registry hacks and DOS-based systemfile deletes.

And this was necessary, as BB would patch and insert itself into the lowest levels of the OS. Literally everything. Hell, I remember trying to launch edit.exe from a command window, and that little ape popped up asking if I wanted to download the latest version of Bloated_Ascii_editor_.exe.

God I hated that ape.

Hi,

Remember to update SpyBot and AdAware before you run them.