Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning hardware...

Learning hardware...

how do you started learning assembling your computers and learn about hardware?

i'm a newbie to computer, what i can do only taking components out like ram and hard disk and plug it back nothing more than that... i hope i would be able to know more hardware stuffs...

what's the best route to learn? buy a book ?

AO's Mr Grumpy
    There are many different ways to learn about computers and hardware. Some people could teach themselves, with the aid of books, and of course an old computer to practice on, others may begin at school these days, and go on to college and or university. .computer assembly, repair and maintenance is also a hobby for many others.
    If you search the internet you will find many sources of information, and tutorials on the subjects you are interested in, also obtain some old equipment to practice on, the more the better
    Computer says no
    (Carol Beer)

i have been in those hardware forums for quite a long time.. hmm i only know how to set jumpers on hdd master/slave... take out rams...

the terms they use... like voltage blah blah... and how they compare graphics cards... which one is the best value for...

i have a old amd k7 600mhz system

been upgrading my computers part by part... buying new ram sticks... buying a new gfx card, a hard disk to my computer ... what i can do only plug them in...

There are two really good ways to learn about hardware. The best of which is to start from scratch and build your own pc. Go to diff sites and compare values, specs, etc. Try www.tomshardware. www.mwave.com www.pricewatch for prices on things. Then buy and build.

If you want to learn about terms and specs, google for them. Like differant kinds of RAM http://computer.howstuffworks.com/ram4.htm