Question about password protection on a site
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about password protection on a site

Question about password protection on a site

My teacher has found out that some of his students (I am one of his students as well) have been trying to deface his teachers' page. His page is located at http://teacherweb.com/PA/GreatValley...iudice/hf0.stm (then click the flags at the top to view the password prompt (at the bottom of this page)). He knows that I have some computer knowledge, and asked me to see if it is possible to obtain the password for this page. I'm just wondering if someone could in fact obtian this password, and he should move to a more secure host, or if he needs not worry. I'm simply looking for a yes or no answer here, I am not trying to gain access to the password.

I'm not a hacker, but this seems a bit fishy. Unless I possibly have a written and signed affadavid that I can do it, not worth.

Originally posted here by PM8228
    I'm not a hacker, but this seems a bit fishy. Unless I possibly have a written and signed affadavid that I can do it, not worth.
    Call me stupid if you must, but I couldn't make sense out of that.

To clear up what he said:

No, we will not find out if we can "hack" the password. Unless we had a signed letter from the school or organization that runs this site telling us that we have permission to exploit the site.
    =

Elite Hacker
    I don't understand. If you ask me, the only thing a password there would do for you is allow you to submit homework. It seems like every student is given a password and they use that to turn in their homework. I don't think there is only one password that will take you to some secret place where you can deface the website. The worst you could do is get someone you don't know a bad grade in the class, which is bad if you ask me. This whole thing sounds made up to me unless I'm wrong about how that password is used.
    Just my $2

To clear things up...