System Restore Problems
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: System Restore Problems

  1. #1

    System Restore Problems

    I just restored my system using the XP restore, but I cant access my internet now. Is this a common issue? How do I fix it?

    -It is I, me-
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    No its not a common issue...

    what is the error that gets displayed when you try to connect?
    010000100111100101110100011001010010
    000001001101011001010010000100100001

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=249524
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,302
    Do me a favor when you try to use IE look in the Bottom right corner and tell me if you see something like

    res//C:\\system32\window\****\someother stuff.

    Sorry I can remember the thing by heart.

    Now you should be getting the Server can not be found message with that.

    Now one other thing have you recently unistalled Kazaa?

    Now as for not being able to access the net after a System restore, No I have never had that happen. Hum... What date did you restore it to.

    Come on throw me a bone here you didn't give any info. Why did you do a system restore?

    <Enter Cheesy Game Show Host Voice>
    This and many other questions will be yours. Tell him what's he's won Johnny.

    Well he has won an all exclusive vacation back to his computer to get the rest of the info.

    But wait there's more. If he comes back with more info we will be able to help.
    </Enter Cheesy Game Show Host Voice>


    Yeah I need to know more to be able to help. Unless someone else can think of something that I didn't or didn't know.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    You may have to reload the drivers for your modem card or NIC I would go to the control panel and open up the device manager and look at the status for the device that you have in your computer if it has a yellow Exclamation mark beside it then that means that you will have to reload the drivers for it.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    44
    Actually...it is very common with a system restore...due to patches and SPs creating .dll version confilicts.

    I have fixed problems with 98\ME\NT\ 2000...havent had the pleasure of XP yet by reinstalling (rebuilding) the TCP\IP stack.

    basiclly..remove the TCP protocol and bindings from the device you use to connect to the internet reboot and then add tcpip back again.

    GG
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,210
    Gypsygeek has the right idea. Additionally, one common (related) problem is that many sites (including Windows Update and Office Update) may not allow you to install patches. That problem arises if you use system restore to go back to a point prior to installing particular patches. The only way to fix that is to repair Windows XP through the Windows Setup.

    AJ
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    My good friend who tutorial, better than in the home of nmap, I have not yet read completely.
    I have a lab at the university and the practice is to send information by nmapfe, send a virus and knock down the network or turn off the computer.
    As you see ??????
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    I think the problem has probably been resolved in these last 5 years,

    That Gypsygeek is my original profile...forgot my password


    MLF
    Last edited by morganlefay; November 21st, 2008 at 02:10 PM.
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Gonzo District BOFH westin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    1,188
    My good friend who tutorial, better than in the home of nmap, I have not yet read completely.
    I have a lab at the university and the practice is to send information by nmapfe, send a virus and knock down the network or turn off the computer.
    As you see ??????
    Hello, fellow American. This you should vote me. I leave power good. Thank you. Thank you. If you vote me, I'm hot... Taxes, they'll be lower... son. The democratic vote for me is right thing to do, Philadelphia, so do.

    [Charlie's Campaign speech from Always Sunny...]
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

    -HST
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391

    Question

    Ok i'm calling a thread lock.

    this thread is waaay outdated. dimates in the future if the thread date, or last post in a thread is more then a year old then maybe just start a clean thread and post your question in that.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides