Product activation glitch hits Symantec
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Product activation glitch hits Symantec

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    32

    Product activation glitch hits Symantec

    lol @ Symantec!

    http://news.com.com/2100-7355_3-5099...l?tag=nefd_top

    Some of the 1.2 million customers that have installed software maker Symantec's latest Norton PC security package have been unable to use the software because of new antipiracy technology, the company confirmed Thursday.
    ISS you are the besthttp://www.issadvisor.com/images/personal/pisson.gifbecause you piss on the rest

    [gloworange]www.issadvisor.com [/gloworange]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    547
    Lets wait and see how this backfires at them for trying to make the same thing microsoft did. If they whant to stop piracy there other ways, bucause by puting more cryto and passwords,locks serial # and that kind of stuff there is always someone thats going to find the algorithm or way to avoid registration,or wath ever type of "lock" it has.

  3. #3
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    It is a good thing I have not gone out and got it yet, I will wait a few more months and what happends with it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    185
    uh...symantec...
    one comment only:
    Peter Norton is dead.[?)
    Industry Kills Music.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    I have the new Norton Internet Security 2004, and had no problems with it. However I still have the 2003 edition and still plan on using it as I can just uninstall the reinstall to have my subscription renewed.
    =

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    78
    Same here chey.. I do that with 2001.. I just spend an hour downloading all the newest updates and bang... I'm on top of the world...

    /me pretends to Leo Di'Caprio in Titanic...
    [pong][shadow]Why won\'t anyone give me greenies???[/shadow] [/pong]

  7. #7
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    That may work for a while but virus writters are getting smarter and smarter so eventually that version of norton will fail to detect them. at least that is what I think will happen

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    yeah it works great for me.

    I mean, I don't want to pay these people 40 bucks everytime I want AV definitions.

    /edit

    Does anyone see a yellow box flashing on my avatar? it flashes after he bangs his head 2 times?
    =

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    117
    I renewed my subscription for Norton Internet 2003 Security just 5 hours ago....
    Why the f**k couldt I had read this thread 5 hours and 1 minute ago...
    .sig - There never was a .sig?
    I own a Schneider EuroPC with MS-Dos 3.3 and it works.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    78
    Originally posted here by DeadAddict
    That may work for a while but virus writters are getting smarter and smarter so eventually that version of norton will fail to detect them. at least that is what I think will happen
    If my old version, which is automatically updated to the newest version, fails.. your new version will too since I get the exact same updates you get... so it doesn't matter....

    And chey.. I don't see a box...
    [pong][shadow]Why won\'t anyone give me greenies???[/shadow] [/pong]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides