instaling windows 98se over linuxcaldera 1.4?how?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: instaling windows 98se over linuxcaldera 1.4?how?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    347

    instaling windows 98se over linuxcaldera 1.4?how?

    hi guys
    i dont know in which forum to put the questions regarding software/os questions so here is my problem:
    have an old pc to play around and i installed linux caldera 2.4 on it works ok didnt managed to mount cd and floppy as didnt have time to read the instructions.Was happy to install the system without any help.
    Now i want to install windows 98se on it.For some reason i can not.I try to boot from cd but nothing happens it bypsass it and go to lilo.
    I tried do it from floppy with system disk 98 se and everything is going fine until its starts with messages i am missing some files .How it can be have system disk just made on the other pc?
    if i go to fdisk what i have to do next?
    any sugestions?
    its old pc with 48mg memory on it and is just for learning(think intel mmx200)
    thnks

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    You probably should erase the MBR by using fdisk /mbr from a dos disk. I am curious about this statement:

    How it can be have system disk just made on the other pc?
    What do you mean you just made the system disk on the other pc?? This boot floppy, is it to boot into Win98? It sounds more like you need a CD option on the floppy so that you can run the CD (your machine is probably too old to have an option to boot from floppy). Bootdisk.com will probably have a boot disk that will help you.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    347
    sry i have a boot floopy98se (system disk was wrong expression)

  4. #4
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    IIRC, that disk is to boot into Win98 when you have problems with the system. Are there options to boot with CDRom with this disk? (I'm old and I can't remember)
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  5. #5
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    The Win98se boot floppy should have everything you need (assuming
    you also have the install CD for windows). It has a cdrom driver so you can
    access the CD from the DOS prompt. Just go to D: or E:, whichever is the CDROM,
    and run SETUP.EXE

    Code:
    A:\>e:<enter>
    
    E:\>setup<enter>


    If the installation gives you any grief about the non DOS partition,
    you may need to go back to the DOS prompt and run FDISK.EXE
    manually, but it shouldn't be necessary. There may be extremely rare
    situations, where you have, an unusual partitioning scheme, that FDISK.EXE
    may refuse to delete a linux partition. In that case you'd have to boot
    into linux and delete the partitions from there.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  6. #6
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Or get delpart.exe.

    One of my old favs..
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides