Linux Internet Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux Internet Help

Linux Internet Help

Well im a bit of a newbie at linux, after much searching found no usb drivers for my modem so im using ether, well when i use linux i cant seem to use *ALL* if the internet, i seem to be able to ping someone under my cable companis ips but can load a webpage or use the Red Hat feature to activate the product.

Ive set the firewall on high security, my ether card on trusted and allowed DHCP and WWW, any help would be great.thanks in advance
    Signature image is too tall!

be more specfic about the problem, i vaguely get what your problem is but i need more info to give you a workable, logical answer
    speak your mind becuase those who matter don\'t mind and those who mind don\'t matter

ok

i have everything setup and the internet on my redhat partition SHOULD be working. exept its not.
    The only internet realted thing i can do is ping
    The linux firewall security is set on high and is only allowing WWW and DHCP

AO's Mr Grumpy
    Originally posted here by Scriptersx
    ok

i have everything setup and the internet on my redhat partition SHOULD be working. exept its not.
    The only internet realted thing i can do is ping
    The linux firewall security is set on high and is only allowing WWW and DHCP
    Who are you pinging?What is the IP address?, and what are you getting back?

Just someone i know under the same cable company, im getting back good replys, no droped packets, i even did a tracert and it came back.
    Im able to bring up info about my modem on the 192.168.100.1 and everything is fine. Is there a daemon or something i gotta turn on? something i have to set?

Make sure that you have the inetd service running or even installed...if this isn't running or installed, then whether or not you have WWW or DHCP allowed on the firewall won't matter, as this service is essential in having your internet working, as it calls on this service.