cd don't respond when clicked setup on autorun
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: cd don't respond when clicked setup on autorun

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10

    Talking cd don't respond when clicked setup on autorun

    Setup on games like Viper racing, , test drive off road 3, ,and on..

    don't respond after clicking setup on auto run. Then I went to my computer - E:\Viperracing- setup or something. it still aint work. I click the computer loads allittle and the courser is showen to wait and then it lets go and nothing happens.

    I have

    2.4 ghz pent. 4
    1,000 mb of ram and i'm not kidding.
    a i dont know name video card for 128 mb
    3 hards of total to about 540 gigs (I do allot of proffesional video capture and editing)
    win xp pro

    Pleazz Help
    Daniil Usachev

  2. #2
    Senior Member VicE$DoS$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    209
    Wrong forum... try General chit chat or newbie questions next time...

    Firstly have you tried a different CD? Your drive might be faulty.
    I remember when Nihil was ickle. Does that mean I'm old?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10
    no my drive is new and ive even tried the dvd rom

    and also difrent cds
    Daniil Usachev

  4. #4
    Senior Member VicE$DoS$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    209
    Okay then step two.. have you tried the CD in a different machine??

    Oh and are you running a Linux partition?
    I remember when Nihil was ickle. Does that mean I'm old?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10
    yahh it works same operating sys

    yes it works on those computers that have the same os

    nope NTFS partition
    Daniil Usachev

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    311
    Maybe its a problem with your disk drive?
    Right click on "My Computer" and then "Properties"
    Then go to the hardware tab
    Then click on "device manager"
    If theres a problem with one of your hardware devices, it *should* have a exclamation mark next to it.

  7. #7
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    OK...I'm making the assumption that you can go into windows explorer, "see" the drive and the files on the CD. Right-click the setup.exe file and then left-click "properties", click the "compatibility" tab and set it to run in windows 98 mode, click OK (or Apply if it's there) and then double-click the setup file.....the problem may be in XP and not the drive....again, I'm making the assumption that your CD drive is functioning properly here.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    217
    You may try to clean up your CD-ROM Drive.... Doesn't mean that new CD-ROM is clean......
    I guess so...

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Find out what your videocard is and get the latest drivers for it. I had a similar problem with XP and a videocard that was only 6 weeks old.

    Because the drivers were so new it was the last thing that I checked


    But there were new ones! and this fixed the problem.

    Good Luck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •