Start Programming In C
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Start Programming In C

Start Programming In C

I have just begun programming in C, and I am interested in any suggestion anyone may have concerning books and websites. Any general learning material. I am specifically interested in network security apps, chat program things, anything involving netowrking remote computers, ect ect. Is C a good language for accomplishing such things? I mean either way I'm learning C cause I understand that is the language most used in computer security and also the language of the linux kernel, correct me if I'm wrong. Anyhow any suggestions would be great. Thanks

while i'm not a programmer in any remote sense of the word itself, i've half-attempted to learn. after doing a lot of reading on the subject, however, i've learned that c is a great language to learn and an excellent foundation to build your knowledge of programming on, but the language that you start to learn with would depend a lot on what you plan on using it for. some people have told me that you should learn python before perl and other. i guess it's all a matter of what works for you.
    a good series of programming books (the company has closed it doors) was put out by wrox press. you may be able to find some of their books out there (ebay, amazon marketplace?, etc.), but they're truly exceptional when it comes to laying out the language in a manner that a normal human can understand. i used them for asp and i also have a c book from them. very cool.
    good luck on whatever you end up with.

If you are only interested in developing app's without having to know much, i would have to suggest a visit to codewarrior. Download their kneet proggie and you have somewhere to start. Also read their programming FAQ, there is a section regarding C.

I gotta give it to this guy... here's someone who knows all about it: strath. His tutorials on programming are for beginers, so it's pretty much easy to understand.