IP Address attempting to access my computer

Thread: IP Address attempting to access my computer

IP Address attempting to access my computer

Over the past couple of days my firewall has been telling me that group of about four sequential IP's have to trying to access my computer. I used an ip locator to find them and they are all from Marina Del Ray, California and I live in Atlanta. The same ip addresses have been coming up at least 5 times a day for the past couple of days. I was wondering why someone would be attempting to access my computer. Also is it possible that they are accessing my computer and my firewall is just catching some of the attempts. I'm really new to all of this and am trying to learn as quickly as I can. Any help would be appreciated.

agent007

What type of attempt is it TCP? UDP? What port(s) are being probed?

Cheers:
    DjM

Well you have to take into account that there are a hell of a lot of dumb script kiddies out there attempting to access all sorts of computers, from gov to home users. What firewall are you using by the way? Just curious.

Could you perhaps tell us what kind of firewall (and version) you are running and just what the firewall is loggin? Is it an attemp at port 135 for example?

Did you install any new software (especially network based) on your computer? Perhaps it could be a program tyring to contact remote servers to funtion. Kazaa will often cause some interesting results on some firewalls.

The more information we have, the better we can help you. If you still believe that these are attack attempts, use http://www.samspade.org and run the IP through there, then contact the abuse desk of whatever network comes up. Just be quick, to the point, and include firewall type/version, and the necessary parts of the logs. (They don't have time to see what you did on your computer for the past 90 days... )

Dave
    Alcohol & calculus don't mix. Never drink & derive.

Elite Hacker