Server security

Thread: Server security

Server security

I understand that chmod 777 to things on a web server can create security risks, but (what if/could you) only do it to a single file? In this case a text file- are there any security risks?

Elite Hacker
    Normally the only time you have something with 777 attributes is when you have a directory you want anyone to be able to upload to. On my server I have it to where you can upload pictures and songs with a php script. And it won't work unless the permissions are 777 on the directory, and by that I mean rwxrwxrwx. So yes it is a risk, so only do it if you want a user to be able to upload or change something with some sort of script. If you do have uploads, make sure to limit what type of files can be uploaded so that you don't get any nasties.

yeah, I'm a php beginner, and I'm making this thing so winamp displays the song I'm playing into my AIM profile.... I got everything made, I just gotta do that chmod. Do I have to contact the guy that has the server, or can I do it with telnet? I have a username and password with ftp, would i have the ability to do that chmod? Im not too familiar with doing this obvioulsy....

Elite Hacker
    You should be able to do it with telnet, but you should contact the guy just to make sure it's ok.

Setting a single file's mode to 777 can be very dangerous. OTOH, is can be totally harmless. If the file contains shell commands that are then executed, then you must be totally sure that nobody can inject their own shell commands into the file. Don't execute any shell commands from your PHP unless you really know what you are doing. You should also probably make sure you have some mechanism that prevents anybody filling the file up with crap, thus running the server out of disk space. If you haven't already, read over the OWASP Guide, especially the bit about shell injection.