Remotely executing a program on my computer - netbios - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Remotely executing a program on my computer - netbios

  1. #11
    Senior Member Maestr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    604
    The simplest way to do this (using NetBIOS) is to open the remote machine and schedule a task by opening the Scheduled Tasks folder (you must have remote registry enabled for this). The other simplest way is to use the 'psexec' tool from sysinternals or something similar.

    http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/freeware/psexec.shtml

    -Maestr0
    \"If computers are to become smart enough to design their own successors, initiating a process that will lead to God-like omniscience after a number of ever swifter passages from one generation of computers to the next, someone is going to have to write the software that gets the process going, and humans have given absolutely no evidence of being able to write such software.\" -Jaron Lanier

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    14

    Question So what is the conclussion?

    So can we conclude that you cannot do it through netbios?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    247
    It may be possible, but it doesn't look good. I'll ask some of my CS Professors if they know how it can be done.
    www.ADigitalPimp.com
    There is a ghost in the machine, and he is my friend.

  4. #14
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    still think your best bet is by using something like VNC but that doesn't help if you dont want to instal any extra progs - tho am not sure why you wouldn't unless it is not your own comp you are trying to run the prog on.......

    v_Ln

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    247
    I agree with Valhalen. Its generally made so that it is hard or impossible to run programs remotely like that for the very reason that it is a huge security risk.

    Good luck.

    -Galen
    www.ADigitalPimp.com
    There is a ghost in the machine, and he is my friend.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    156
    I think what Maestr0 said, is about the only way you could do it through NetBIOS. (either through Task Scheduler or something like psexec).

    Now if the AV (for example) was a service, then you could always try "net start <service>"
    t.e.k.n.o.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    472
    I think a lilttle proggie known as xCMD will be quite helpfull to you,
    You can download both source and exe.
    From the site :
    Overview

    This program allows you to execute applications on remote systems without installing any client software. You can start a command prompt or just execute a command or exe on a remote machine. The only restriction is you must be an administrator

    Everybody knows the cool tools from Sysinternals (www.sysinternals.com). One of my favorites are PSEXEC, PSKILL and PSLIST,...
    I was always wonder how they could query every kind of information or execute commands on a remote machine without installing any client software.
    Features

    * With this program you can run as many remote commands on the remote machine as you want. (PSEXEC supports only one remote command on the remote machine at the same time)
    * You can execute internal commands (dir,..) directly.
    xCmd.exe \\remote dir
    * You can start a light "telnet" connection with a remote machine without any telnet server
    xCmd.exe \\remote cmd

    Usage

    xCmd v1.0 for NT4/2000 - executes commands remotely
    Freeware! 2001 Zoltan Csizmadia, zoltan_csizmadia@yahoo.com

    Usage: xCmd.exe \\computer [options] command/exe arguments

    Options:
    /D:directory Set working directory
    Default: Remote "%SystemRoot%\System32"
    /IDLE Idle priority class
    /NORMAL Normal priority class
    /HIGH High priority class
    /REALTIME Realtime priority class
    /C Copy the specified program to the remote machine's
    "%SystemRoot%\System32" directory
    Commands's exe file must be absolute to local machine
    /USER:user User for remote connection
    /PWD:{password|*} Password for remote connection
    /NOWAIT Don't wait for remote process to terminate

    Examples:
    xCmd.exe \\remote cmd
    xCmd.exe \\remote /user:administrator dir c:\
    xCmd.exe \\remote /user:somebody /pwd:* /d:d:\ test1.exe /p1 /p2
    xCmd.exe \\remote /c /user:somebody /pwd:* /d:d:\ test2.exe /whatever

    - Input is passed to remote machine when you press the ENTER.
    - Ctrl-C terminates the remote process
    - Command and file path arguments have to be absolute to remote machine
    If you are using /c option, command exe file path must be absolute to
    local machine, but the arguments must be absolute to remote machine
    How does it work?

    1. The xCmd.exe is console application and when you start it, the program will extract a xCmdSvc.exe from its resources.
    2. xCmd.exe creates a service on the remote machine (that's the reason, you must be an administrator
    3. xCmd.exe starts the remote service (#2)
    4. xCmd.exe and xCmdSvc.exe will communicate via named pipes
    5. xCmd.exe send a packet to the service what to execute
    6. xCmdSvc.exe starts the command and redirect stdout, stderr, stdin to 3 named pipes.
    7. xCmd.exe listens these 3 named pipes (#6), redirect them to its stdout, stderr, stdin
    Download here http://www.codeguru.com/network/xCmd.zip

    nJoy
    guru@linux:~> who I grep -i blonde I talk; cd ~; wine; talk; touch; unzip; touch; strip; gasp; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; gasp; umount; make clean; sleep;

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •