tcp ports

Thread: tcp ports

tcp ports

This question might get me "flamed", however, I hope there will be some forgiveness as I am a newbie...I also did a search thru AO and didn't find what I need; plus I googled my subject (also went to the d-link site), and I've asked around...and still couldn't find what I need to know in plain English without the computer speak (yep, not really computer literate) - so that's why I'm asking here!! Hopefully someone will be able to enlighten me...

I would like to know about TCP ports and how to secure them on a D-Link router so that everything runs in stealth...and WHICH ports I should close or leave in stealth mode. Are there ports I should leave alone? I don't play on-line games, just MSN. I have gotten different answers from different people on the port security issue - I've even been told by a techie to just leave the ping open. Could someone please give me the basics on the ports, and how they work, and what to close or leave in stealth?

Elite Hacker
    I also have a D-Link router with a built-in firewall. This was the default settings on the firewall:
    Allow        Allow to Ping WAN port                            WAN,*             LAN,                    ICMP,8 edit
    Deny         Default                                           *,*               LAN,*                              IP (0),*
    Allow        Default                                           LAN,*             *,*                                IP (0),*
    I'm assuming that is the settings on your firewall. It sounds to me like you don't have anything that
    requires opening a port, so I would suggest leaving it at the default settings which doesn't allow
    anything to connect to you only you to connect to them. One thing you might change is to deny
    ping. This was found under the tools tab under misc. in the web admin center:
    Block WAN Ping
    When you "Block WAN Ping", you are causing the public WAN IP address on the DI-614+ to not