NetBios Problems

Thread: NetBios Problems

NetBios Problems

Connection: Cox Cable, using Terayon Modem USB.

Ok trying to learn from the netbios tutorial, but when i try to do

nbtstat -A 127.0.0.1

or

nbtstat -A (my friend's IP)

it says:
    Local Area Connection 6:
    Node IpAddress: xxxxxx

Host Not Found

But when i do:
    nbtstat -A (the Actual IP) it shows everything...

I've tried searching on what is wrong.. and i can't seem to find it.. sorry for asking... i'm really trying to learn Security/Networking on my own, but i'm stuck here.... argh.

Thanks for your help.

Getting stuck is nothing to worry about. The first thing you should look into is: Is there a firewall that's blocking it? That's the only thing I can think of. Sadly, I'm new to netBIOS and such myself.
    www.ADigitalPimp.com
    There is a ghost in the machine, and he is my friend.

nbtstat does not like the local loopback interface. If you are having trouble finding your friends machine it may be a firewall or router somwhere is blocking NetBios (very likely).

-Maestr0
    \"If computers are to become smart enough to design their own successors, initiating a process that will lead to God-like omniscience after a number of ever swifter passages from one generation of computers to the next, someone is going to have to write the software that gets the process going, and humans have given absolutely no evidence of being able to write such software.\" -Jaron Lanier

Ok... argh... he doesn't have a firewall.. and he doesn't have Windows XP firewall enabled... i was thinking maybe it was my computer... argh...

its weird cuz i can check my IP.... with no problem...

Do they have to have netbios on? or is it automatic thing or what?

cuz like when i do an nmap his thing is:

67/tcp filtered
    80/tcp filtered
    110/tcp open pop3
    135/tcp filtered
    136/tcp filtered
    137/tcp filtered netbios
    138/tcp filtered netbios
    139/tcp filtered netbios