What's your password?

Thread: What's your password?

Third planet from the Sun

What's your password?

I am researching common Social Engineering practices to support a proposed change to my companies AUP. One reply I received, from a programmer I haven’t talked to since my college days, is listed below. Even though this is published in Tech humor, Please remember that no matter how tight your security is – a user can set you back months with a simple statement.

This is my friend’s story:

Years ago as an IT consultant I was assigned is to write and install a mortgage application program for this local bank.

When the client software was ready, I make an appointment to install it on 30 machines at the bank's main branch and on the appointed day, I go to the bank lobby and walk up to a teller.

"I'm the computer guy and need to install a mortgage application for the finance department".

The teller points me to a security guard. "I'm the computer guy and need to install a mortgage application for the finance department".

The guard directs me to the finance department on the second floor. At the first occupied desk I again say, "I'm the computer guy and need to install a program on your PC. May I have your password?"

And at all 30 desks, without fail, the employees tell me their passwords and turn their PCs over to me-- without asking for identification or even my full name.

When I’m finished with the install, I ask to speak with whoever is responsible for security.

The V.P. in charge calls me to his office and I say, "I just walked into the bank and not a single person asked me my name, company or for any identification". "And every single person freely gave me their password. All I had to say was 'I'm the computer guy and need to install a program on your PC. May I have your password'?"

"Well, they may have given you their password," VP says, "but you don't know our system and wouldn't be able to access anything confidential."