Laptop ------> My PC
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Laptop ------> My PC

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    119

    Laptop ------> My PC

    I did'nt know where else to post it, so I put it here. Can anyone help with with connecting my Laptop to my computer. I'm using WinXP on my computer and 2000 for the laptop. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    [glowpurple]The inside secrets of big buisness are being leaked onto the Net - (who\'s fault is that ) - Me[/glowpurple] http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=419

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    134
    What do you mean by connecting? What do you want to do? Do you have a network? Network cards installed? Networking would be the best way to share information, but a little more info would help.
    Sysmin Sys73m47ic
    -The Hacker Pimps
    -Development Team {FuxorWRT}
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=563

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    119
    What I mean by connecting is getting both computers on a network I guess. I don't have a network and I don't know how to put one on. Can you do it without a network card installed? I just want to share music and stuff lke that. Thanx
    [glowpurple]The inside secrets of big buisness are being leaked onto the Net - (who\'s fault is that ) - Me[/glowpurple] http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=419

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    289
    yeah sysmin's right.. a bit more info about what you have would be nice..

    if you have nic cards in each.. you can get away with using a "crossover cable" between them, but networking them through a hub or switch would be better.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    well the easiest way would be via ethernet cable - most laptops come with a ethernet port these days - but let us know if yours doesn't - and if your desktop doesn't have a spare NIC... they're not that expensive

    the following might interest you as a start but we could do with more information on what your capabilities are, what you intend doing (e.g. do you want to share your net connection, setup a webserver...???) etc

    http://www.nova.edu/help/ethernet/2000xp.html
    http://www.wown.info/j_helmig/w2kusbrt.htm

    Z

    [edit] <sigh> being long winded again see some have beaten me to the first probing questions
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    119
    Thanx is the ithernet cable the big version of the phone cord? If so I have both ports but not the cable....lol Is there anyway you can do it with out that?
    [glowpurple]The inside secrets of big buisness are being leaked onto the Net - (who\'s fault is that ) - Me[/glowpurple] http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=419

  7. #7
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    yes the ethernet port is the 'big' version (read about 2mm bigger) than the phone cord. Cat5e cable (which is what you'll need and if you have no hub or switch you'll need cat5e crossover cable) is not that expensive - the only other ways you'll be able to do it are
    - set up a direct parallel port connection (but again this needs specialist cable and is awfully slow... not good enough for transferring music files on the fly) or
    - set up a direct USB connection (again you'll need a specialist cable - similar idea to parallel connection but a bit quicker)
    - maybe set up a firewire or blue tooth connection... but now we're starting to talk exotic so Is hasn't pursue this yet

    Z

    [edit]

    'ere looks like this
    http://www.cyberwalker.net/connectors/network.shtml

    rather than this (which will be a modem or phone port)
    http://www.cyberwalker.net/connectors/modem.shtml

    not sure if that image is clear enough...
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    74
    Ya, the ethernet port is the "big phone chord port". You should just be able to go out to CompUSA, or Best buy or whatever and buy an ethernet chord for pretty cheap.
    What do you get when you cross a nun and a penguin?
    An operating system that won\'t go down on you.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5

    Cross over cable

    If you are hooking up directly, you will need a cross-over cable, not a standard cable. This should be available at Radio shack for about $6.
    Worst. Sig. Ever.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    and RadioShack (believe that's a common enough name in the US) has the cat5e crossover stuff available for $9.99 for 3m

    http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...%5Fid=278-2011

    Z
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •