NetCat
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NetCat

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    19

    NetCat

    I downloaded a Windows version of NetCat, and for some reason, it doesn't seem to work. I opened it, and typed a few stuff in the command line, and then pressed enter. I wait for a few seconds, and a message comes up, and right after, even before I get a chance to read the message, the window closes by itself. Is there an explanation for that? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Know-it-All Master Beaver

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    NetCat is a console based app. Open your console (command or cmd depending on your version of Windows). Then run netcat and the associated commands/options. If you get an error this way you will be able to see it. I'm guessing it couldn't resolve the host or open the port you attempted to connect to, something along those lines.
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    129

    netcat

    if running xp, try going to start,run, then type command and then netcat, had the same problem myself once before. for some reason i couldn't get it to work under cmd, hope that helps.

  4. #4
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    When you say that you typed some stuff in the command line, are you referring to an actual command prompt or are you referring to the Run command from Windows? If you are trying this from the Run command, you need to follow the advice HTRegz gave ya...

    Also, just a thought, but where did you get your download from? The best place to get it from is here: http://stake.com/research/tools/network_utilities/

    This download is from @stakes' website and should be trusted - I'm just wondering if you had obtained a 'hacked' copy or something...
    - Maverick

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    14

    Lightbulb do it though the command prompt urself

    The problem here is that when you execute a DOS application by using explorer (double clicking on the file), the command prompt window closes as soon as the program is done so you dont even have time to read the syntax error.

    you need to open the command prompt urself, execute net cat and then check out which parameters u need to pass.

    thats it!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    134
    Yes, it sounds to me like you tried start>Run and then typed it in there. That would produced the same result. The others are right, you need to run netcat from the command prompt. You are running xp/2000 you might want to throw it in your system32 directory depending on what you want to do with it. It's just an idea.
    Sysmin Sys73m47ic
    -The Hacker Pimps
    -Development Team {FuxorWRT}
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=563

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    19
    Thanks guys! I got it working now. I just had to open the program from command.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides