As some are aware, I'm a professor at a college. One of the courses I teach is Introduction to Internet Security. As part of that course I've implemented "wargames". Wargames are a 4 week period where students attack each other (and defend against those attacks) to get somewhat of an experience of what they might face when being an admin out there in the real world. At the end of the 4 weeks they write a report on the methodology they used for their "role". I'm a firm believer in the use of hands on experiences and application of techniques to understand the need and the how of security. Everytime I talk about the wargames people seemed interested in learning about them. I'd thought I'd write out the reasons and concepts that I considered when creating and adding these.

When I started writing this, I envisioned a single tutorial. Given the amount of material I will have to split the information into multiple tutorials (4-5) that will cover:

a) how to setup a wargame
b) Hacker/attacker role
c) Defender/admin role
d) Reports

One caveat: In no way should you use this in an illegal manner. Do not attack your ISP, company or others without written consent from the proper authorities/management. If you choose to attack someone without their permission you may run the risk of being charged with a felon (depedent upon the laws of your nation). I DO NOT ADVOCATE THIS, ENCOURAGE THIS NOR SUGGEST YOU DO THIS.

Wargames: Purpose

The purpose of wargames is to offer a safe environment with which to experiment. As we are aware, it is illegal to "hack" other systems without the owner's consent. I know that students will try things (and play with "toys"). Rather than them getting arrested, the wargames allows for exploration and understanding with minimal to no risk (as long as the rules are followed).

Rules are:

1) Do not erase your opponents machine