DNS Hosting Help
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: DNS Hosting Help

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    500

    DNS Hosting Help

    Okay so I registered my domain name and have my apache set up. Before I considered using a real domain name I was using DYNDNS to give me dynamic hosting through them. Thus my address was (myhostname).dyndns.com. Now I want to send my page to my domain name. DYNDNS has a custom DNS service that will link my IP to my domian, but the service isn't free: it is $25.

    I want to know if this is the only route or is there another? If so then another question is so help setting up ddclient ( a program that keeps my IP updated with the nameserver). Thanks.

  2. #2
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    This is pretty cut and dry. You aren't going to get something for nothing. Your choices are:

    1) Use an IP address. It's free, but also a pain in the ass.
    2) Dynamic DNS, which you already know is free but comes with the caviet that you must have the dyndns domain suffix. However, as you also know, for a fee, they will provide DNS services to make your site appear to have nothing to do with the dynamic DNS service.
    3) Traditional hosting. You pay someone for a domain, then inform your provider to propigate the DNS record. Typically, unless you get a static IP address, this can also be a large pain to manage.

    --TH13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    Did you know .tk domain names are free?! Check out: http://my.dot.tk/
    They'll add a pop-up but you can remove that by going to my DotTk -> My marketing
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  4. #4
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    Lansing_Banda - Does your registrar not provide DNS?

    I know mine does - but even so I have changed my DNS provider to ZoneEdit - www.zoneedit.com

    I assume you know the IP addy though.

    Anyhow, you'll need to know a bit about zone files and whatnot, but all the help you need is on the site.

    Sign up for a free account and off you go.

    HTH

    Steve

    /edit

    You don't need to know about zone files at all - All menu driven.
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    500
    Well, I guess I'll just shell out the $25 for a year of DYNDNS custom hosting. Thanks guys.
    You shall no longer take things at second or third hand,
    nor look through the eyes of the dead...You shall listen to all
    sides and filter them for your self.
    -Walt Whitman-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides