problem uninstaling norton antivirus 2003-help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: problem uninstaling norton antivirus 2003-help

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    347

    problem uninstaling norton antivirus 2003-help

    i have xp pro with 512 ddr mag asus motherboard with amd athlon 1800
    i had norton antivirus 2003 which was working perfectly until today.as i always play aaround with pc i instaled regprot which i came accros on this site from one of the members.
    i noticed that my antivirus has been disabled which red warnings.tried to enable this but nothing happend couldnt do a thing.
    i decide to uninstall it and then reinstall.
    when i tried got the message unable to procede fatal error(no number next to it).
    went to control panel add/remove and tried there but same thing happened
    then put disk antinorton 2003 and tried to reinstal it couldnt do it.
    question??
    can i completelly remove it from pc and how???
    probably both answers yes and probably from registry????
    may someone please point me and show me how to delete it from registry or whatever to unistalit
    thnks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134
    how far into the uninstall did you get before the error message?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    347
    straight away doesnt do anything start with icon uninstaling and second after says fattal error

  4. #4
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Have had this prob with NNetSec 2004, red icon for th eAV flashing, found that by reboot it cleared ? also there is a conflict that Symantec are aware of, go to their site, check for the down load, hope this helps,
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    134
    I had a simialr prob a couple of days ago with some software for my scanner. If theirs not a fix on the website and your used to working with the registry you could try searching through it and carefully deleting the entries asociated with the program, then go and delete the folder files for it.
    Make sure you know what your deleting though and it would be a good idea to backup the registry and make a system restore date before you do it.
    Then just reboot your comp and you should be able to reinstall it again.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    146
    goto add/remove programs to completely romove the prorame...if thats what you want to do...other wise i suggest you contact the company...

    cheers

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,499
    Look on your hard drive for a folder within personal settings which is labeled symantec.

    Delete and re-install.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    146
    That would work to..should have thought of that
    /me bangs my head on wall while crying

  9. #9
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    I am not sure what type of support agreement you have with Symantec, but I did have a similar problem with Corporate Edition. I called the support number and they provided me with an uninstall exe (I couldn't find it or I would have attached it). This exe seems to do the trick. Can you call for support?


    Cheers:
    DjM

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    253
    unvi$ible,

    You might want to look at this .....
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...av&svy=&csm=no

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides