RAM issues and data corruption
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: RAM issues and data corruption

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    113

    RAM issues and data corruption

    Recently I've been having some issues with corrupt data on my hard drive. I did some reading, and apparently it can be do to bad memory modules in my RAM. If this is in fact true, I'd appreciate if someone could reccomend a good memory diagnostics program.

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there Viper,

    I am not too sure what to recommend as you did not tell us anything about your system specifications. What operating system, processor, RAM type etc. There are quite a few diagnostics proggies out there but no point in suggesting one that won't work on your box?

    I have another thought though What is your hard drive, and its specifications.

    In recent years hard drives have got bigger, so their associated cache has grown as well. Processors have also become much faster, FSBs and so on. Now, when your HDD shuts down, the HDD cache should be written to the drive....but sometimes the system can shut down too quickly for that to happen, giving you data corruption.

    There is actually a Microsoft fix for this, that basically inserts a pause in the Windows shut down sequence to let the HDD complete its shut down! Once again, I would like to know a little more about what you are running.

    EDIT: Sorry, what do you mean by "corruption"? what exactly do you notice.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    113
    Well its XP Pro with sp1 and all updates up to now
    2.26 GHz P4
    512 MB (2x Kingston RDRAM pc1066)
    Primary HD 60GB WD
    Secondary (the on i get corruptions on) 180GB WD1800JB...something

    And by corruptions I mean when the little box pops up by the system tray saying I have a corrupt or unreadable file, and it tells me to run chkdsk. I'm noticing them mostly in my download program (overnet) temp file folder, but there are so many and they are so numerous then when i run chkdsk other files begin getting deleted and restored. I'm not entirely sure whats happening with it, and I doubt its a bad HD.

    Using NTFS on both drives

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I would be inclined to run a surface scan on that drive just to eliminate the bad drive question, if only in your own mind?

    Because they are internet type temporary files, the cache issue might be still valid? I suppose to prove that I would clear my temporary files, internet stuff, most recent documents and so on THEN shutdown. What puzzles me is that you say that you have a large number, when I would only have expected a few?

    See if you still have the problem?

    If you do, then I would suggest that the rapid shutdown is not the issue, and we shall have to look elsewhere.

    Please keep us posted.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    113
    It's not browser related, overnet is an external program. And these serious corruptions happen only after I leave the program on for a long time, like overnight. What software would I need to scan my HD?

  6. #6
    for testing your RAM modules i would suggest using memtest86

    http://www.memtest86.com/

    very easy to use.
    good luck
    http://members.home.nl/mcvay/mcvay_chobits_sig.jpg
    Im so good in bed, i moan my own name!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    352
    i had an issue with my RAM a while back, was getting all sorts of BSOD's in XP pro, write errors, data loss (files would just dissappear altogether), this started happening overnight for no apparent reason at all, ran memtest86, over 500 erros in 1 pass of it...

    another thing you can do, check you system event logs (in comp mangement, admin toosl i think), that may give you an idea of what may be happening...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    113
    Originally posted here by mrleachy
    i had an issue with my RAM a while back, was getting all sorts of BSOD's in XP pro, write errors, data loss (files would just dissappear altogether), this started happening overnight for no apparent reason at all, ran memtest86, over 500 erros in 1 pass of it...

    another thing you can do, check you system event logs (in comp mangement, admin toosl i think), that may give you an idea of what may be happening...
    Well ty for the info. Btw, how long did a full ram test take for you? I've got 512mb pc1066 rdram, and I left it on overnight and I came down 16 hours later and it still wasnt done, or does it just restart?

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    If you let them, these RAM tests will run 7 or more times. You need to set it to "run once" the first time, then it should run for about 2-3 hours.


    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •