How to preview php files in windows
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to preview php files in windows

  1. #1
    Senior Member Falcon21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    252

    How to preview php files in windows

    Anyone here know any program that I can use to preview php files on my windows without uploading it to a server. Thanks!


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    Previewing? You can just install a server on your own box: http://www.apache.org/ for example
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  3. #3
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    an easier way of setting up a server to test your own work on would be to get phptriad - it comes with apache/php/mySQL all bundled together - you might need to update the php to most recent version but thats not hard to do

    v_Ln

  4. #4
    AO Antique pwaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,409
    As el-half and val have mentioned, you could install a server on your computer. You'd have to have the PHP interpreter installed with a web browser in order to preview any PHP scripts (or just the PHP interpreter if you're running from the command line). I don't know of any GUI tools that will open a PHP script and preview the results without the script residing on a server, whether it be a local or remote location.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

  5. #5
    Dead Man Walking
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    810
    To imrpove slightly on what valhallen said phpdev would be the way to go. It is more up to date. http://www.firepages.com.au/devindex.htm theres the link for it.

  6. #6
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    I personally run iis, php 4, and mysql on my windows xp dev box. Works fine for me and testing my php scripts.

  7. #7
    AntiOnline Senior Member souleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    2,884
    yeah x, you mean like that page you keep trying to get to work right that we keep seeing in IRC

    haha, just kidding.
    \"Ignorance is bliss....
    but only for your enemy\"
    -- souleman

  8. #8
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    I actually got it to work finally. I think those bastards at my hosting company throttled my cpu usage. LMAO

    They can't handle the power of my graphic php scripts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •