Banning
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Banning

  1. #1

    Banning

    I'm running a website with Apache2 is there a wasy to ban people from coming to my site?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    77
    im not sure, but i know some how there is a way to IP ban someone. I have been IP banned from a forum before. www.tshforums.com my friends used to go here for flame wars before

  3. #3
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Pretty simple. Just block the offending IP on your firewall. You do run your webserver behind a firewall don't you?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5
    Check the HTTP header HOST_IP or some thing of that sort ( e.g HTTP_IP_ADDRESS or IP_ADDRESS) on your page display the page only if it is your address else simply terminate the page

  5. #5
    Set firewall to block connections from whichever IP you want.

    -Cheers-

    PS: impetus, you take latin?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    114
    True, firewall blockwill work, but keep in mind that Banning someone by an IP address would only work if:
    firstly the person uses a static ip address;
    secondly the user would not use an IP morph program to hide or change his ip.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    secondly the user would not use an IP morph program to hide or change his ip.
    How would the user be able to receive data then if the server thinks he's another host?
    Person ---SYN--->Server


    Server ----SYN/ACK---> ????


    Isn't the only way a user can "change" his IP here by connecting through a proxy?
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    52
    If the user is on dial up his IP gets reset each time, therefore you'll be nblocking an IP address not anyone particular come on.. thats just a little harsh

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    I have DSL (dial-up in the past) and my IP changes too, maybe every day, don't know.
    The IP might even change when I power off my router and put it back on.
    I think this is with most DSL/cable? users here, not sure again of course.
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  10. #10
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    Originally posted here by ghostofanonion
    If the user is on dial up his IP gets reset each time, therefore you'll be nblocking an IP address not anyone particular come on.. thats just a little harsh
    Do a whois & find out the rage of IPs for the ISP & block the lot.

    Why do you want to do this?

    Are you trying to rid yourself of a nuisance?

    If so email the ISP with the complaint & tell them you will block their wholw range of addresses if they do not take action.

    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •