Integrated AGP
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Integrated AGP

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    234

    Integrated AGP

    Alright, this is a question from a newb to hardware, so try to keep the flames down.

    I have an integrated AGP from SiS on my motherboard, or so it seems. So, if I buy another Video Card/AGP, say a nVidia GeForce, will I be able to fit it in there and configure it properly? Is there anything else I'd have to do other than stick it in there. I'm running Windows right now and need a new graphics card for compatibility with Linux (SiS are @$$holes), so that's why I'm trying to figure it out. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    143
    Please supply the manufacturer, model and any revision number for your motherboard. Do you have any kind of installation manual for your system? If this is a proprietary system (Dell, HP, Gateway, etc.) - the manufacturer and model number for your system will work as well. Thanks.

    V.
    All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them. What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    64
    All you need to know is the multiplier, i.e 2x, 4x, 8x that your motherboard supports
    and make sure your new vid card matches.

    Krang
    .....Brain Failure....dumping core.... z z z

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    You can install another videocard without problems. You may, however have to alter your BIOS settings (startup in the boot cycle) to use the offboard video.

    What you have to check out is:

    1. Will my BIOS support the video card?
    2. Is it AGP (the small chocolate brown connector) or PCI (the longer, white one)
    3. Does the videocard manufacturer support *nix.....like with drivers

    When you find a videocard that supports *nix you just have to install it and make sure that it is "introduced" to whatever OSes you want to boot.

    Have a look at the nVidia and ATI sites.................both claim to support *nix, with the Radeon(ATI), I think they have to be 8500 or better, with nVidia I think it is the 4200 Ge4?

    Good luck
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    234
    I have an SiS 740 card which came with my Sony RX-741. I want to get a nvidia GeForce FX 5200 so I can run *nix, so that's why I ask.

    Thanks nihil, that answered my question.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    52
    The Geforce FX5200's are not the best card to be runing nix on so I'd suggest looking at something either a little upmarket a little undermarket or a radeon dunno how they work (I'd suggest saving some money and buying a radeon 900 no DX9 support but trust me they run better under DX9 games than a FX 5200 does and they cost less also run cooler and ... well they are better exceot for a few DX=9 features that the 5200 dosn't have the power to utilise happily anyway.)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    234
    Yeah, I've researched it a little more and am considering a ATI Radeon 9600se, rather than the GeForce. It's on sale at CompUSA ($130 w./ $30 rebate), so I can get it for the same price. I've seen linux drivers on their site, but I'm gonna check compatibility with RH9 now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides