soundMax weird problem in XP
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: soundMax weird problem in XP

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    39

    soundMax weird problem in XP

    when I play music using media palyer, it comes message:cant play since there is a problem with sound device. I checked device manager, everything is working properly. I even removed the sound card and uninstalled driver then put it back, but still same.

    when I try to open volume control, it shows a message:there are no active mixer device available. I thought it maybe some spyware is using my sound device since I only hear some radio noise when I touch the speaker. So I did Norton and Adaware, and didnt find any virus or trojan.

    Then I mumma and google Internet, I found some posts about exact same problem, but there is no answer on solving the problem, the only suggestion is system restore or reinstall XP.

    Also some other problems:
    1. When I try to enable XP ICF(Internet Connection Firewall), it says: the dependency service or group failed to start. Maybe I stopped some service? I played service.msc a bit.
    2. I can not enable the switch user option, only can log off.

    So I hope my writing is making sense to you, and I could get some help.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    39

    sorry if it's not related security issue

    after I post the message, I realized that it maybe a hardware resources problem such as IRQs, IO port addresses, and so on. So I appologize if this thread should not in this place.

    If so, please simply delete it and please don't send me any message such as "you made a big mistake" or "do you want to be removed".

    I just joined this forum a few days ago.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,161
    Ok you can always hit edit on your post. Then at the top of the menu check the box that says delete this post .Then scroll down save changes. So it will not be on the front page/board

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    39

    thanks, but I still hope

    hope someone could help me with those problems.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,161
    Ok try a Different PCI slot ...........Give all the spec's on the sound card.

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Mike,

    Don't worry about where the post should be.......if you knew that, you would probably have the answer yourself

    Two things come to mind:

    Does your motherboard have built in sound?
    Have you disabled/deleted this before trying to use the sound card?

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    mikema, if you put a thread in the wrong place, just send a note to myself or Negative and ask us to move it to the correct one.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    39

    thanks!

    Thanks for all the reply, I will do some more research on that during Christmas.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •