Coyote Linux floppy firewall
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Coyote Linux floppy firewall

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    48

    Question Coyote Linux floppy firewall

    Does anyone have any experience with this?

    www.coyotelinux.com/modules.php?name=Products&op=coyote

    I think it's interesting to try it at least !
    Remember...the most wasted day of all is one in which we have not laughed.

    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=298

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    245
    Coyote is a great little Distro. I like the idea of booting a diskless machine with something like Coyote, and sending all logging over serial to a logging host.

    An interesting related idea is embedded Linux on an NVRAM chip. NVRAM has the distinct advantage over CMOS
    in that is can be modified while the OS is running, making patching and updates to such a system less complicated than they might otherwise be.

    -- spurious
    Get OpenSolaris http://www.opensolaris.org/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    634
    yep, ive got my firewall (486) running it,

    dead simple to setup. You dont even need a linux box to run the configuration files it even comes with a application that you can run from windows and enter all the required configuration data there and then the disk is made.

    If doesnt even need to be on a floppy disk, luckily becuase there slowly dying now (its taken them long enough stubbon bastard things) you can run it from the USB storage keys and even compact flash cards, In fact anything that can be plugged into your computer and booted from.

    Its primarly a piece of software to build a router, but when you start playing with the scripts you can implement a pretty solid firewall, (Ive had no intrusions that i know of and im runninng an IDS that i read the logs of frequently, but you never no)

    I havent tried it yet but you could also try using a cut downversion of knoppix to act as a firewall/ router by altering scripts and making then start on start up, if there was no other drive in the computer it would certainly make it difficult to save root kits, trojans, and other nastys on there as a switch on and off would flush the RAM, but then cant you make viri that reside in RAM?? anyway im wittering on now

    try this link below, have a look at the coyote admin guides, they provide allot of infomation on security and other things you should find of interest.

    http://www.routerdesign.com

    oh yea! dont forget that the for some instances if you decide to use a 486 it will need a maths co-processor, you can even open up the computer and search for every chip number on google to see what it does, or read the documentation. Or maybe someone has a better method to identify the maths co-processor??

    HTH

    i2c

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    An interesting related idea is embedded Linux on an NVRAM chip. NVRAM has the distinct advantage over CMOS
    in that is can be modified while the OS is running, making patching and updates to such a system less complicated than they might otherwise be.
    Hey, I didn't know NVRAM was already available? I read somewhere a big while ago IBM or something was working on it, it would allow a system to boot instantly, almost no loading time thus.
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    634
    I thought they were already used on PDA's, notice that he does say embedded

    cos thats all that happens on a psion or palm you put it into standby mode

    i2c

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    245
    NVRAM has been used in Sun hardware for quite a few years now. One of the best things (among many) is
    that you can pull the chip, store it, and put it on another board some point in the future and it will retain all of
    it's information (typically like the time, MAC, machine ID, machine serial number, etc. in Sun hardware). Given
    the proper equipment, it probably wouldn't be too dificult to get a tiny install of an OS like Linux on some of the
    higher capacity NVRAM's that are available now.
    Get OpenSolaris http://www.opensolaris.org/

  7. #7
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,542
    SGI uses nvram chips since long. On Indy's and indigo's IRIX it's a known topic / hassle / security prob... but I love the chape and color of those SGI's...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    245
    Originally posted here by VictorKaum
    SGI uses nvram chips since long. On Indy's and indigo's IRIX it's a known topic / hassle / security prob... but I love the chape and color of those SGI's...
    I totally dig SGI machines too... I am watching eBay for a remarketed (NIB ) Octane, or an Octane 2 with
    the MXE graphics board.
    Get OpenSolaris http://www.opensolaris.org/

  9. #9
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,542
    they are indeed pretty cool... http://www.sgi.com/workstations/octane2/
    I have an SGI Indy R5000SC Webforce
    the design of those boxes
    more and less obsolete boxes from SGI: http://obsolete.majix.org/computers/sgi/


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •