Broad band Roter help - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Broad band Roter help

  1. #11
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Heh, pulling back the sticker and then giving him a classic look I should have been there to see lol. Ahh well. Right now I'm just fine and happy with my router. It does what it is supposed to do and only costed about $60 US dollars.

    Untill I can get that Cicso rack we have in the class rooms at my college in my back pack anyway
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    76
    My suggestion would be for an SMC barricade. I paid about £70 for an SMC7004BR a couple of years ago. They've been replaced by newer, better, and cheaper models now though, so it's got to be worth checking them out. They are fairly cheap, but they have nice features like print servers, dial-up fallback, etc.

    Also, tell us if you're getting a cable modem (blueyonder/NTL), ADSL (almost everyone else), or wireless (not very common in the UK at the moment), as this will influence your final choice of router a hell of a lot. If you're getting ADSL, it might be cheaper for you to get a combined ADSL modem/router instead of seperate devices.

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,161
    Linksys a part of Cisco systems. One of my buddies has a nice cisco router he borrowed from his work.

  4. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    677
    I also have the dlink 614+; bought it used at CompUSA I believe for $39 bucks. Make sure you log into the manufactores website once in a while and upgrade the firmware for your device -- very important. Make sure you activate WEP and Shared-key authentication. If a hacker finds your WEP key, the device will scan authorized MAC addresses in before IP's are given over a wireless connection.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    64
    Whichever make you buy, the first thing you need to do is get the latest stable firmware, they tend to come a little out of date. Newer firmware can solve issues for you before you encounter them.

    Krang
    .....Brain Failure....dumping core.... z z z

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    41
    Linksys... Just hearing that word makes me cringe. I would go with dlink personally as Linksys products from my end anyway have been nothing but trouble. I have had 5 linksys routers and all of them went out in a week or so... Go with Dlink here are a few links...

    Wired Router:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....6&type=product

    Wireless Router:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....7&type=product

  7. #17
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Originally posted here by jhollings
    Linksys... Just hearing that word makes me cringe. I would go with dlink personally as Linksys products from my end anyway have been nothing but trouble. I have had 5 linksys routers and all of them went out in a week or so... Go with Dlink here are a few links...

    Wired Router:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....6&type=product

    Wireless Router:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....7&type=product
    Bout time someone backed me up on D-Link. They are damned good huh?
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    634
    I have had 5 linksys routers and all of them went out in a week or so...
    The cheap ones ive had that were based on linksys hardware and software all went in a week or so, apparently due to the distributor it was a problem with the microcontroller inside them (ARM9 in my case possible ARM7 if your's were older)

    They must of lost a fortune in replacing them, I returned and got replacements for mine and i know 2 other people who did similar

    i2c

  9. #19
    AO Antique pwaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,409
    Originally posted here by gore
    Bout time someone backed me up on D-Link. They are damned good huh?
    A couple of weeks ago I would have agreed with you, but recently my Dlink DSL-504 router has been playing up like there's no tomorrow. It constantly crashes and puts me in a state where I can't login to the router, nevermind use my ADSL connection. So I'm witholding judgement until this problem is sorted. Also, my colleague's router (same make/model) crashes once a week and requires a restart.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

  10. #20
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    jhollings: You had a bad one. I have 20+ Linksys installed myself or on my behest on Cable and DSL links all over the Detroit area managed by either myself all the way down to people who had a problem getting the box open..... Some of these have been in place for more than 2 1/2 years and I have never had a problem with the router yet..... Of course we won't discuss the connection problems due to the ISP.... That's a whole other subject.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •