Dual Boot
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dual Boot

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    407

    Dual Boot

    I'm thinking of changing over to linux, but want to keep windows just in case. My question is, how would i make my windows XP computer able to dual boot? would i install linux first, or do something else? any help would be greatly appreciated.

    slick
    \"Look, Doc, I spent last Tuesday watching fibers on my carpet. And the whole time I was watching my carpet, I was worrying that I, I might vomit. And the whole time, I was thinking, \"I\'m a grown man. I should know what goes on my head.\" And the more I thought about it... the more I realized that I should just blow my brains out and end it all. But then I thought, well, if I thought more about blowing my brains out... I start worrying about what that was going to do to my goddamn carpet. Okay, so, ah-he, that was a GOOD day, Doc. And, and I just want you to give me some pills and let me get on with my life. \" -Roy Waller

  2. #2
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    Install windows first, then linux, and when you install windows, leave however much space you're going to need for linux. you should be able to do the initial partioning with fdisk from windows, just make one partition with that and make it primary dos, and leave some space which doesn't have to be formatted or anything for linux. After you install windows, just pop in your linux install disk, and most of them will recognize that you have windows, and just don't mess with that partition during your partitioning, and it should configure the bootloader automatically depending on what distro of linux you are using.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    59
    All you have to do is to type that into google and you'll find your answer...

    Have u looked into VmWare??

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    407
    H3r3tic, i already have windows installed, do i have to reformat? also, 'fdisk' is not a recognized command in XP.
    \"Look, Doc, I spent last Tuesday watching fibers on my carpet. And the whole time I was watching my carpet, I was worrying that I, I might vomit. And the whole time, I was thinking, \"I\'m a grown man. I should know what goes on my head.\" And the more I thought about it... the more I realized that I should just blow my brains out and end it all. But then I thought, well, if I thought more about blowing my brains out... I start worrying about what that was going to do to my goddamn carpet. Okay, so, ah-he, that was a GOOD day, Doc. And, and I just want you to give me some pills and let me get on with my life. \" -Roy Waller

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,161
    What linux are you trying to install? Some of them can get a little buck with you,when you try to install.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    407
    I am trying to install Mandrake Linux, Version 9.2. I dont have the CD's, im downloading it off linuxiso.org. Is that a problem?
    \"Look, Doc, I spent last Tuesday watching fibers on my carpet. And the whole time I was watching my carpet, I was worrying that I, I might vomit. And the whole time, I was thinking, \"I\'m a grown man. I should know what goes on my head.\" And the more I thought about it... the more I realized that I should just blow my brains out and end it all. But then I thought, well, if I thought more about blowing my brains out... I start worrying about what that was going to do to my goddamn carpet. Okay, so, ah-he, that was a GOOD day, Doc. And, and I just want you to give me some pills and let me get on with my life. \" -Roy Waller

  7. #7
    Developer Extraordinar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Internets
    Posts
    571
    Mandrake 9.2 has an option to resize partitions in the installer, just defrag your drive first in XP, then resize it to whatever size you want. Then, install Mandrake. It should automatically configure LILO or GRUB to regonise Windows XP. Happy Dual Booting.

    Merry Christmas

    MB
    Come to UnError.com

  8. #8
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,696
    One last thing, the boot loader has to be installed on the MBR, if you install it on the first sector of the boot partition it overwrites NT loader, this pisses XP off greatly.
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    344
    dude screw re paritioning and loosing all of your 1337 games and porn, get topologi linux and you dont have to change any of your current windows settings. It is really cool in the sense that you can keep all of your old work on your hard drive. The only problem i am having with it is when i try to boot it, it goes to a black screen with the word GRUB and a flashing cursor but dont mind my problem, if you want a linux distro that you can use on a windows machine with a bunch of stuff already stored on it, then topologi is the way go get it at: http://topologi-linux.sourceforge.net/index.php
    Support your right to arm bears.


    ^^This was the first video game which i played on an old win3.1 box

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •