Port 3730
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Port 3730

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    13

    Port 3730

    hY

    I've scanned a computer for ports 0 to 5000 and i olny found one open port, tcp 3730, witch corresponds to client-control, witch i have no idea of what it is, i've searched google but i didn't got anything usefull.
    Do you know what it is ? What deamon it is ? Or what OS runs it ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    I've scanned a computer for ports 0 to 5000
    Is this your computer that you scanned? Or was this someone else's?

    Off-hand I'd guess it's a network device with remote access, maybe something like Cisco.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    13
    someone else's, my firewall claims the he/she is trying connect to a trojan port 27374 in my computer all the time

  4. #4
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    So why not notify their ISP? Few ISPs I know of like this kind of behaviour (SubSeven Scanning).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    13
    As far as i know he's ISP doesn't give a **** about these issues, and im not very worried about that, im just curious about the fact that all ports are closed exept for that one

  6. #6
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    It's quite possible that he has a hardware firewall or a similar device before you reach his machine.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  7. #7
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    Why not have the person run TCPview locally and then you'll know exactly what process maps to that port. However, if there is a device between you and the target machine (as MsMittens has pointed out), this tool wont do you a bit of good.

    http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/source/tcpview.shtml
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    13
    hmmm ... it could be a router or a gateway also then ?

    thanks

  9. #9
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    It could be a router with ACLs, a firewall, a DSL modem that has filtering capabilities, basically, it can be any number of networking devices. If you know the person, you can simply have them do a netstat -an from the command line and you will see instantly if the port you are curious about is listed. If it is, use the TCPview utility and you will see what process is bound to it.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    13
    i have no idea who he/she is

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •