Vulnerabilities in several antivirus products
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Vulnerabilities in several antivirus products

  1. #1
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867

    Vulnerabilities in several antivirus products

    I did a quick search and didn't find anything about this issue so here goes:

    Serious vulnerabilities in several antivirus products could result in denial-of-service conditions, local privilege escalation and other negative consequences. Fixes are available for some of the problems.
    When scanning compressed files for virus signatures, antivirus products usually decompress the file first. However, the products with the flaw often don't limit the size of the resulting decompressed file, and extremely large files (billions of zeroes, for instance) can overwhelm the products. Decompressing a large file can take up all available file space on a machine, maxing out CPU usage and causing denial-of-service conditions on the machine.
    A different vulnerability in Symantec Corp.'s LiveUpdate can be fixed with the latest patches. A variety of Symantec products are vulnerable to the escalation of privileges to SYSTEM by a local user.
    Full story HERE

    If this is a duplicate post/thread, let me know and I'll delete this one.

    Chees:
    DjM

  2. #2
    Senior Member Info Tech Geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Vernon, CT
    Posts
    828
    Never heard anything about this, has there been any updated information provided?

  3. #3
    Yes, that's my CC number! 576869746568617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    397
    Well, If the registry permissions are set properly I dont see where that would be an issue.

    EDIT: Re-read the article....seems to have something to do with either runas and cmd or possibly cmd alone. Will see if I can duplicate it, just for laughs.

    EDIT: Nope...can't duplicate it. It would be hard for a user to do that if you were running corporate edition with a NAV master server, as the server is the only system that runs live update. I tried a Win2K box that's running NAV 2003, but I guess I already have the patch.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    i thought i had read something about that last week but its a little different:

    http://secunia.com/advisories/10609/

    what the people in the labs neglect to tell you is to get these exploits to work you must walk around the server seven time clockwise reciting diety names then kick it real hard
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  5. #5
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Originally posted here by Tedob1
    what the people in the labs neglect to tell you is to get these exploits to work you must walk around the server seven time clockwise reciting diety names then kick it real hard
    What....everybody knows that old trick.
    DjM

  6. #6
    Senior Member Boogymantroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Memphis Tn
    Posts
    100
    So are there really any problems like that? And if so what are the real ways to rectify the issue?

  7. #7
    Yes, that's my CC number! 576869746568617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    397
    Simple, my young Padawan....Keep the AV updated and the OS patched, as well as properly secured.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Boogymantroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Memphis Tn
    Posts
    100
    Well doesnt that just make sense

    boogymantroy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •