Password question on XP
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Password question on XP

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256

    Question Password question on XP

    I have heard that there is a trojan that when you type in your passwords instead of it appearing as a "dot" it appears as a bar. This is the case with my pc. When I log into things on IE, such as this site, it appears as solid dots, however, when I log on using roboform (a password autofill program) the password appears as blocks. Also, I signed up for a new yahoo ID, and during the sign up process, it asks for a password, that too, is in blocks. But when I log into yahoo, the password appears as dots. I have an antivirus program installed, I ran the trendmicro scan, and I have also ran the trojanscan.com also. Any ideas? Install a software firewall and track usage maybe? I have an actual router with a firewall built in.
    Sex is like \"Social Security\". You get a little each month, but it\'s not enough to live on.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    100
    I don't think I have heard of anything along those lines. Did you see anything using a google search or on sites like Security Focus or etc? If you find out anything else post it here.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256
    Forgot to add the images of what I am seeing....
    Sex is like \"Social Security\". You get a little each month, but it\'s not enough to live on.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256
    Tried the google searches and only came up with ways to reveal the password behing the ****'s....or porn sites of course. Im really puzzeld by this though.
    Sex is like \"Social Security\". You get a little each month, but it\'s not enough to live on.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3,840
    The second picture won't display, but some forms or program don't show dots. I have filled out registration forms where bars showed up instead of a dot.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    100
    do you get errors or anything when you try to log in? There is an utility called snitch (ntsecurity.nu) that will allow you to see the PW in plain text (to see if there is any changes). Have you watched you ports for any strange transmissions? netstat -a??

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    100
    I have seen stars, eights, bars, x's and blanks.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3,840
    Just a friendly reminder. There is an edit button you guys can use. No need to double post.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    256
    I have filled out the forms successfully, with no problems logging in. As for network traffic, or strange traffic, nothing really has been out of the blue. I stay off P2P programs etc, and only use yahoo/aim without accepting files.
    I have another PC using the same Roboform program and the password box displays as *s and not the bars. Currently, I am at work, but I will repost the 2nd pic tonight. Attached below however is a pic of the "working" pc, using roboform, the way it "should be". Previously, on the PC in question, it would display the stars like this picture.


    Edit, sorry for the double post, when I tried to click edit, it wouldnt let me add the attachment. (if you were referring to the way I posted the attachments, MemorY.)


    Edit again, I ran the snitch program that was mentioned on the good pc and it does not reveal the passwords. Running Windows XP.
    Sex is like \"Social Security\". You get a little each month, but it\'s not enough to live on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides