SUN JAVA includes exploits?
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SUN JAVA includes exploits?

  1. #1
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190

    SUN JAVA includes exploits?

    Hi,

    I have been having a few problems with an old machine (PII/266Mhz/128Mb) running Win Me.

    I had inadvertently done something that prevented a couple of MS updates installing, relating to VM (Java).

    I discovered that what I had done was "terminally stupid", so there was no way back. So I decided to dump MS virtual machine and get the Sun Microsystems Java.

    I started to have problems so ran a full search with AVG......which picked up 7 trojan exploits all related to the Sun Java.

    REMEMBER.....I had obtained this from the Sun site, and that it is a direct install, not a download.

    I have subsequently re-downloaded and run the following:

    AVG
    Moosoft "The Cleaner Pro"
    e-Trust
    McAfee Home 7.0
    DrWeb

    All give me trojan hits except AVG, which did whilst Moosoft was running, although it had found it with the previously installed software? Hits mostly in the Sun software download area.

    Has anyone any idea what is going on? The Sun official site cannot be trusted? false positives?

    I cannot use the other machine properly now...for example no smilies and no auto tranfer in AO?

    I did have to upgrade my videocard drivers because it was not working properly with the Chuntex (CRAPTEX...they cannot spell!) 17" LCD screen

    But why so many positive scans by different software on the Sun product? I think it is a different issue from the screen?

    Any advice welcome

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    Do you have a link to the one you downloaded?

    Maybe someone with a spare box can load it on there and test it to see if they get the same results. You didn't scan the box BEFORE installing sun java, and the trojans could have been the thing preventing it from updating m$'s virtual machine?

    I would do it, but I've gotta run to a physics (electric and magnets, yay!) class.

    If nobody has done it by the time I get back (couple of hrs). I'll do it.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    Yes, that's my CC number! 576869746568617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    397
    I'll do it right now and see what I get. Wish me luck!

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Their site is :

    http://java.sun.com/

    And yes..it WAS clean before...I said yes to download & install so it got round my secondary defences that way.

    576869746568617 May God go with you sir..and be careful!!!!!!!

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    I had installed and reinstalled two time today and i didnt got some virus messges on my comp.
    I think that you have some hijak or infected ofline files somehow.

    Shut down all processes//AV too// and clear ram with ram booster or somthing
    clear all kind of temp files. And do install agane. // if no one monitoring you pc and changes packets that sends to you (if it is possible) so you will install it without some viruses.

    //check you start up files

    good luck
    // too far away outside of limit

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there MrBabis,

    I have up to date AVG, E-trust, Moosoft plus Spybot S&D, ADAware6, and a few other bits...but I got these "notifications"?

    Now, I am NOT saying that a notification is a real problem.it just worries me that I got them from so many different products?

    I even put some files on a floppy and let McAfee 7 have a look.....it went mad as well?

    I have done full scans in safe mode, and AdAware and SpyBot S&D

    Whatever it is is from the site I am sure...but is it a false positive?

    I know that I have the videocard/screen issue as well.....complicaters things a bit?

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Yes, that's my CC number! 576869746568617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    397
    O. K., here's what I did.

    Ran AV software

    Symantec Corp. Edition: Nothing
    AVG: Nada
    Ad-Aware: Nothing
    Spybot S&D: Nothing
    Hijack This!: No unusual processes running.
    WinTasks 4: No unusual processes running.

    Rebooted in safe mode and rescan.....

    Symantec: Nothing
    AVG: Nothing
    Ad-Aware: Nothing
    Spybot S&D: Nothing
    Hijack This!: Nothing

    Rebooted in normal mode as administrative user and rescan....
    Symantec Corp. Edition: Nothing
    AVG: Nada
    Ad-Aware: Nothing
    Spybot S&D: Nothing
    Hijack This!: No unusual processes running.
    WinTasks 4: No unusual processes running.

    Went to www.sun.com and clicked on the Get Java pic, installed direct, no download.

    Item installed: Sun Java 2 Runtime Environment SE v1.4.2.03
    Installation sucessful...Rescan...
    Symantec Corp. Edition: Nothing
    AVG: Nada
    Ad-Aware: Nothing
    Spybot S&D: Nothing
    Hijack This!: No unusual processes running.
    WinTasks 4: No unusual processes running.

    Reboot and rescan...
    Item installed: Sun Java 2 Runtime Environment SE v1.4.2.03
    Installation sucessful...Rescan...
    Symantec Corp. Edition: Nothing
    AVG: Nada
    Ad-Aware: Nothing
    Spybot S&D: Nothing
    Hijack This!: No unusual processes running.
    WinTasks 4: No unusual processes running.

    Noticed Sun Java process was not in list. Stared amnually and rescan...
    Symantec Corp. Edition: Nothing
    AVG: Nada
    Ad-Aware: Nothing
    Spybot S&D: Nothing
    Hijack This!: No unusual processes running.
    WinTasks 4: No unusual processes running.

    I guess it's not in the distro....Don't know whatelse to say.

    BTW In case you're wondering....It's an AthlonMP dual cpu system on WinXP with 2.5GB RAM and Adaptec 2300S Ultra320 SCSI RAID 5/3 15k RPM 30GB HDDs, and I only have 4.76GB of data, which is why the scans were so damn fast!

    Now I gotta leave work and go home to my slow ass P3!

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    OK, thanks for that....

    The positives I got were from McAfee, Moosoft and e-Trust

    I think that AVG just kicked off because someone else did..............OK

    I will try a few more, but I still have other problems with that installation..weird?

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •