Multi booting software
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Multi booting software

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    927

    Multi booting software

    Well /am almost ready to do my multi booting again and i dont wanna mess up again so i want to get some good info on multi-booting softwares...i see there are really many so cause i have no experience...am asking you....which are some good ones...i plan on doing winXP/linux mandrake or suse...thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    I would give this one a shot
    http://www.freedownloads.be/html/dow...hp?down_ID=308
    or you could just use GRUB and LILO that come with linux
    found these also
    http://gag.sourceforge.net/
    http://symon.da.ru/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Remember, put XP on first then install your *nix.
    =

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    289
    This one looks pretty good.. (you mentioned it before, DeadAddict in this thread)

    called XOSL http://www.freedownloads.be/html/dow...hp?down_ID=308

    check out that link the sumdumguy posted.. wow.. "39 separate OS's"
    http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/p...399433,00.html

  5. #5
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    That is the reason I posted in this thread I believe it will do the job well I haven't tested it personally but if the screen savers mentioned it on their site and on the show it has to be good.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3,839
    www.vmware.com

    if you want to pay.

    As for VMWare, it's gorgeous. I use the software for my college program. They've actually modified all the program's so that instead of multiple partitions, they're all Windows boxes with virutal machines. It also means we don't need an actual lab and a ghost server to do our various classes, we can use any room and run VMs.

    As for the speed issue, that can vary. I've ran VMs on everything from a P3 800 and up. on the P3, it would be slow at times but as long as you had enough RAM you were ok. The 800 had 512MB. For my program that min. req. is 512MB RAM and a 1.1GHz cpu. The rentals from the college have celeron processors and they can handle one VM no problem, and two VMs with a slight slow down. I use a Celeron 2.2Ghz w/ 512MB of RAM and have no problem running 2 and occasionally 3 VMs, as long as I'm not doing anything too intensive. This system I'm on right now is an AMD XP 2500+ w/ 768MB of DDR. I'm curring emerging some software on a gentoo VM. I have 4 consoles running, each compiling apps (everything from kde to php to apache to ethereal and so on). That is a pretty heavy burden in and of itself. When you add my background apps (ICQ, MSN, AIM, Skype, mIRC, AVG, etc...) it's doing it's fair deal of work. My roommate and I Just finished watching American Wedding (while the VM was running in the background) and it didn't hinder the movie at all, even though it's compiling four seperate programs.

    The only thing to be careful of is VMWare 4. We've had many students who chose to go with VMWare 4 (The college supports and provides VMWare 3) and there have been issues with Virtual DHCP Servers running. They seem to forget they're supposed to broadcast to the virtual machines and start accepting DHCP requests that are bound for the server yet heard by the NIC of the host machine. This caused some major problems, around 30-40% of the college had difficulty getting online while these rogue machines were tracked down and finally located.
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...ghlight=vmware

    It's not for dual booting.

    quote:
    VMware Workstation runs multiple operating systems, including Microsoft Windows, Linux, and Novell NetWare, simultaneously on a single PC in fully networked.


    Let's say u want to test new hardware ..so you want to test if it is compatible with more then one OS ..so you install a guest operating system and see if it work on that one ... log onto Linux on the same machine and test it ...log onto Novell and test it there ..it's easier to test software and hardware with a few machines

    quote:
    VMware Workstation gives students the freedom to experiment with new applications or tools. With undoable disks, they can try "what if" scenarios without the worry of trashing the test system or having to rebuild it - virtual machines can be restored with a mouse click. Instructors/corporate trainers can create a library of pre-configured training environments, easily distribute them to students, and can quickly restore machines to a clean state for their next class. Sales and marketing professionals can distribute demo software without installation or compatibility problems and demo complex or multi-tier applications on a single laptop.


    Also you do NOT need to partition your hard drive . VMware uses your computers file system and creates files that map on a virtual machines disk drives. And you do NOT need to boot ..you can change systems with mouse clicks.
    Also you do NOT need to partition your hard drive . VMware uses your computers file system and creates files that map on a virtual machines disk drives. And you do NOT need to boot ..you can change systems with mouse clicks.

    VMware costs $329 US dollars (packed sitribution or 299$ (electronic distibution) You can also get the evalutaion version here http://www.vmware.com/download/index.html#eval 30 days .

    You can get more support here: http://www.vmware.com/support/
    Those last two quotes are from me so no source needed

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    927
    wow so many...how can i choose lol...i thought if i asked you guys you would just choose it for me or at least make it easier lol ....I dunno how about i make a poll on this?
    in the same forum and we can vote...hope that would help
    peace

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    289
    try that XOSL one... you have two votes on it so far..

    plus.. you can be our guinea pig.. test it and give us a review..
    with that gui interface, it looks fairly easy to config.. and it's free... have to love "free"

  9. #9
    Antionline Herpetologist
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,165
    XOSL is supposed to be good but it needs a separate partition for it. Just use the damn XP bootloader like I do.

    Cheers,
    cgkanchi
    Buy the Snakes of India book, support research and education (sorry the website has been discontinued)
    My blog: http://biology000.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •