web anonymizer
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: web anonymizer

  1. #1

    web anonymizer

    I used to use proxify.com to enter a website that is blocked here in my work pc. It doesnt work anymore because the net admin also blocked that site. I've tried several anonymizer but they dont work and it is asking that I have to have a cookie, sometimes I am getting an error msg saying that the IP address is blocked. Is there any other free anonymizer that would work ?

  2. #2
    HeadShot Master N1nja Cybr1d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,836
    There must be a good reason why the net admin blocked that site. What type of website is it? How does it pertain to work. My guess is, the website might contain certain information/format which could harm the company's interest. I.E. An online community could be infested with spyware and malware which unknowingly the user might download something. I would go and have a talk with the admin, and he could allow the access to that website for you, if you really need to go there while at work.

    Cheers,

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    134
    Administrators block sites for reasons. They don't just do it for their health. There are plenty of proxies out there that you could use to get around that. What exactly is your reason for wanting to do this? If you ask me it might just be better if you waited until you got home Me personally, I would never take the chance of getting caught at work.
    Sysmin Sys73m47ic
    -The Hacker Pimps
    -Development Team {FuxorWRT}
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=563

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    314
    for a list of proxies check out www.stayinvisble.com
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    314
    oops... its www.stayinvisible.com

    sorry.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes

  6. #6
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    [quote]There must be a good reason why the net admin blocked that site. [quote]

    Like it is a non-work related site..ie Chat, forum, porn, auction, games, email

    I would suspect the the admin is on to your activities.. and your a$$ is Gr@$$ or You are skating on thin ice..


    cheers

    BTW: R0n1n..Use the edit Button.. better than double posting..
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  7. #7
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Hey Amplifiedgirl,

    The advice you have received from Und3ertak3r is very sound. It may surprise you, but some of us would feel bad if you lost your job because of advice we gave you. Some of us actually do care?

    In answer to your question, yes a lot of these sites want to set a cookie, if you had a "cookie" killer that would work, as they acknowledge it then kill it..........but you probably would not be able to install it.......they are onto you by now?

    I would guess that anything with "prox" in the name is blocked?

    To be honest, I cannot understand why you are not blocked from all downloading, browsing etc. other than that your Admin is probably playing with you.

    Now I wouldn't want to spoil his fun

    I will ask you a simple question: If you keep trying to get into this chat program, and each time you find a way you get blocked, isn't that a hint that someone knows what you are doing, and does not want you to do it?

    I guess that I am going to sound like a real boring old fart, but I had a situation where I needed to look at a website, and it was blocked...........I spoke to the admins about it and was told "logon as sysadmin.we have no restrictions" I declined and gave the guy a bit of a roasting OK I could have used my sysadmin account ( the only guy in development to have one!) but that would compromise security? OK I could change my ordinary account authorities....that would be a breach of trust IMHO?, and I could have added the site to the list of allowed sites..........another breach of trust?

    The guy turned to me and said "Hey Johnno, now I know why you have Sysadmin"..........he went and put the site on the OK list........not sure what was wrong with it anyway, it was a reputable CAD systems supplier?

    I think that the poor old Admins get a lot of aggro.............but they are the crew to drink with at the Christmas party......even when I put them up against my hand picked development team

    Good luck..........and PLEASE stay out of trouble
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Obviously they are aware of your work habits, however, they haven't fired you yet. Be cautious because that the ice may be getting thinner if you continue in your current trend. I would invite you to talk to your sysadmin and ask him how much time he/she spends cleaning up after unauthorized internet use.

    And from another grumpy old fart: remember, it's not your computer or your network. If they wanted you to have unrestricted access they would have given it to you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides