ftp access anyware
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ftp access anyware

  1. #1
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729

    ftp access anyware

    i setup an ftp server on my windows box so where ever i am i can get my files(friends house for example)
    i used bulletproof ftp server
    i want to access this from internet exporer but it ses wrong username and passwd or something like that
    i set up an acount for myself
    i didnt see an option for twhat i want to do anyway
    but i probably have no clue what option to use/turn on-off/etc...

    overall problem

    want to access ftp server with internet explorer
    how do i enter the pass and username
    OR
    how do i make it an open server (experience with bulletproof ftp server required)
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  2. #2
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    IE should prompt you for a username and password, but if it doesn't,
    try typing the address into the IE address bar like this:

    ftp://username:password@address

    It's not very secure, though. The password goes over the net in plain text.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  3. #3
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    it works on my computer but it didnt at my friends house
    im headed overthere now to see what i can do
    il get back to u
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    407
    well, are you behind a router? if you are chances are you have to set up a DMZ, or the router wont allow outside access....



    slick
    \"Look, Doc, I spent last Tuesday watching fibers on my carpet. And the whole time I was watching my carpet, I was worrying that I, I might vomit. And the whole time, I was thinking, \"I\'m a grown man. I should know what goes on my head.\" And the more I thought about it... the more I realized that I should just blow my brains out and end it all. But then I thought, well, if I thought more about blowing my brains out... I start worrying about what that was going to do to my goddamn carpet. Okay, so, ah-he, that was a GOOD day, Doc. And, and I just want you to give me some pills and let me get on with my life. \" -Roy Waller

  5. #5
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    i set my router up for the dmz
    still no access
    my friend can connect but login
    i think my belkin router is refusing the connection some reason
    any wireless routers u might recommend(the server will be hard lined but i have laptops)
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  6. #6
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    ok im in the dmz and i have a virtuial server on port 21 tcp and udp
    my friend tried the internet explorer way and downloaded cuteftp
    any ideas?
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •